Top 10 countries by alcohol consumption

in #alcohol7 years ago (edited)

Hey Guys,

In this post I take a look at the Global Health Observatory data made available by the World Health Organization and aggregated by knoema to point out the top 10 countries by alcohol consumption
Alcohol.png
Source


Top 10


RankCountryTotal Alcohol Consumption per capita (Litres)
1Moldova17.40
2Belarus17.10
3Lithuania16.20
4Russia14.50
5Czech Republic14.10
6Romania12.90
7Serbia12.90
8Australia12.60
9Portugal12.50
10Slovak Republic12.50

Interesting to note that 9 out of the 10 countries in the top 10 are in europe :)


Visualization



Honourable Notable Mentions


Figured some of my followers would want to know where their country ranks in terms of alcohol consumption

RankCountryTotal Alcohol Consumption per capita (Litres)
12United Kingdom12.00
20South Africa11.5
23Nigeria11.3
27Ireland10.9
30Germany10.6
37Canada10.3
48USA9
65China7.6
98Philippines5.6
109India4.6

Thanks for reading my post.Let me know your view on this post in the comments, I read and appreciate every comment.Each post I make takes considerable time and effort,please support me by upvoting and resteeming if you enjoyed it.Keep an eye on my blog for my next post. You can also follow me @datageek


Sort:  

I'm a bit surprised to see Ireland and Germany below the top20...

@fraenk @reggaemuffin lol, Remember this analysis is based on a generalised dataset of alcohol. I could look into rankings by type of alchohol eg Beer, Spirits, Vodka etc. I bet Ireland and Germany would be higher up on the list then

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Thank you for the information

Glad you found it useful

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by datageek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I followed you immediately. I assume you are in Nigeria? I am in South Africa. I am glad we are not entirely in the top 10 of this list, although I am actually surprised. Most of the top 10 are, of course, raised on vodka with breakfast... I do not mean to make a silly, generalized remark here. I am actually really wondering about whether there is truth in the vodka with breakfast stories in those countries.

Yeah I am in Nigeria. Lol its very funny the way you put it

"raised on vodka with breakfast".

Pretty sure most people are raised with coffee or tea with breakfast hehe , let us hope someone clarifies this. Thanks for the follow

Interesting information, I wonder where Finland is on the list, people from countrys around us always joke about how much alcohol finns consume. Well ofc Russia outclasses us...

Finland is pretty High up. Finland is ranked 13 just after UK with an estimated 11.9 liters per capita alcohol consumption

Thanks for the information! :)

This is per person if I understood right? But 11.9L per person on a how long period? I believe a person can't consume 12L a day?

Interesting to see this, followed!

Russia is not first ?:) tip!

Not on this list lol I bet if I break down the analysis by type of alcohol , Russia would probably be number one for vodka or spirits. Would check it out. Thanks for the tip :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46