The Misconception about Physical Attraction

in #advice7 years ago

Why is the idea of physical attraction so important? Or shall I say, why am I taking my Thursday night to write about something like this? Well, this topic seemed to spike an interest in a part of my brain. Regardless of race, we live in a world where it’s possible to have more than 7 billion human beings who all look different. Of course, we can look SIMILAR to other individuals, apart from our relatives but, no one is exactly the same. (Hence, please save your twin comments, i’m aware that they exist.)
It happens to be a natural human instinct to admire things which are beautiful. I’ve definitely had my moments where I compare myself to other individuals distinct features, and ask myself, “Why was I not born like that?” And it kept going and going in my head until I realized I was going to go insane trying to find the answer. I mean what was I expecting? An actual answer to that question? We spend most of our lives focused on why things are the way they are and we lose ourselves. What good would it be to me to dwell on this question? Absolutely none.
In my head, I normally divide individuals in two groups. The ones who fall victim to the physical beauty of others and the ones who see right through it. I usually find that the ones who can see right through it happen to be much more intelligent. Some people have not reached that barrier whereas, they can’t decipher between what they find physically attractive and what they find mentally attractive. These people have a much more difficult time finding a romantic partner because each and every time they go solely for the looks and believe that because someone looks nice, they must have a great personality, right? RIGHT? NOPE. Completely wrong.
Now, don’t get me wrong. Anyone on this Earth who says physical attraction doesn’t matter is lying. But, keep in mind, it’s what THEY find physically attractive. Nobody is going to be with someone they don’t find physically attractive. It’s all on THEIR opinion. If you see someone with someone whom you don’t believe is attractive you probably now believe that it is possible not to be attracted to someone and still be with them. Well, guess what, buddy. That person thinks their partner is physically attractive. There’s no way to get around it. So, let’s leave that area alone, now.
Man, beauty is just one of those things. I might gawk at someone I believe to be good looking and I will acknowledge that they have fine physical attributes but, that is all. I might want to get to know them and hope and pray to God that their interior is well made like their exterior is. It’s like some individuals know how blessed they are to have acquired such beauty so they make it their life goal to get better compliments than the generic “WoW your eyes are so pretty.”
Don’t be a victim of someone’s look. We all suffer from this. You see, some people feel like they’ll never find someone as attractive as the one giving them attention. Next thing you know, that person is ruining their lives because they don’t know how to look beyond the beauty. You’re under the impression that life revolves around how good someone looks. Don’t be that person.
Assess someone’s beauty then move on to who they are as a person. And make this the only thing that you continue looking at.
Individuals will admire someone solely because they're physically attractive. But, those admirers also lack depth.

Sort:  

Hi Monika - interesting theory indeed. I think I understand your hypothesis, but I want to add that I don't believe this can be a bi-modal classification. Let me expand on that. People respond to physical beauty in different ways we barely understand. Your classification system will likely be different than mine depending on how our brain processes the stimulus (image, smell, sounds and actions) in accordance with our history and belief systems. This I think cannot be captured well in a bi-modal classification and likely follows along some exponential distribution that is constantly in flux. Have you ever met someone you detest, only to find out after knowing them that you become wildly attracted to them? Vice versa, the opposite can happen which we call falling out of love. You cannot know what others are thinking about their admiration for you or someone else because they are probably unaware themselves what is driving their emotions. What an interesting topic :)

You've definitely given me a lot to think about. Thank you for your comment.

When I wrote this, I did feel like there were too many loopholes and or questions still involved to be a bi-modal classification. The two views I chose to expand on are the ones I experience/see the most.

nice!

Definitely beautiful writing. Yes there is more than one form of beauty, but this implies that there is a more basic form fundamental to the others.
The geometrical form that a beautiful soul chooses to take is also beautiful itself.

Congratulations @monikanicole! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @monikanicole! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49