Shortsighted reward farming spam

in #abuse7 years ago (edited)

Harvesting the reward pool like this is unsustainable and destructive to the community. The reward pool exists to reward content creation and real communication and encourage the development of a healthy and productive community.

Help flag this sort of thing and build a community with real value:

https://steemit.com/@lotterysbd/

https://steemit.com/@soly

Sort:  

This is going to be a tough battle, but I tip my hat to you. I started off participating in those SBD lotteries, and your post helped me turn a vague "something's not right about this" feeling into a decision to unfollow and stop upvoting. I'm curious to see what the community consensus shakes out to, on this; you're tugging one way, but other high-powered curators appear to be happily partaking of the upvote-for-money mill.

One reassuring thing: lottery-related tags seem to be a pretty small part of the economy thus far, based on the payout column of the trending tags page. Hopefully, the parasitic stuff will continue to live in the shadow of content that stands on its own, rather than growing to overwhelm the platform.

I appreciate the support. It is unfortunate that so many stakeholders seem to be enabling and even supporting it.

Hey @troglodactyl,

First of all, I want to say thank you for upvoting my comments advocating against the bane of self-voting and reward pool rape. It is very much appreciated and the resulting rewards are being put to use in a couple of projects of which I think you may interest.

Here's a question:

How would you like to receive rewards when the community finds and acknowledges you had rightly flagged farming spam for instance? Well that is precisely what I intend to do. This will promote policing the blockchain and rewarding those that do.

https://steemit.com/flagging/@steemflagrewards/steem-flag-rewards-progress-report

Keep fighting the good fight, my friend.

P.S. Flagged @soly's latest

Thanks for working on this! It really means a lot to see people putting in the effort to build a better future for Steem. Eventually I'd hope we can get the protocol updated so fighting spam and abuse can be rewarded as part of the normal curation process, but I think if we waited for that a lot of damage would already be done. It's still early in Steem's life, and I think it's essential that we work to build a productive and healthy culture now so that it grows increasingly sustainable as it matures, rather than being overrun by get-rich-quick attempts and collapsing on itself.

Loading...

@troglodactyl I am relatively new to Steemit. I am here because I noticed you up-voted my very first post, a poem I wrote after suffering a stroke in 2015, Hiking With Epicurus. The inspiration for it came while out hiking, alone for the first time since the hemorrhage, and coming across a dead, fallen tree.
My goal is to create interesting, original, content, that will be an asset to the site. There is much that I don't get about the mechanics and hierarchy of Steemit. I figure if I keep plugging along, producing interesting content, and meeting like-minded people, all the time sharing in some rewards, that's great.
You seem to be an intelligent and principled person, reading through your dialog here. If there is any advice you have for a newbie I'm all ears.

I think you've got the right idea. This is still a young community and it's growing rapidly. There's a lot of chaos that comes with that, and a lot of short term opportunity both for productive and destructive activity. If we manage to sufficiently encourage the productive and discourage the destructive/parasitic, then there could be sustainable opportunity long term as well. Keep focusing on brightening and enlightening the lives of those around you here and I think you'll do fine.

As for advice beyond that, I'd encourage newcomers to jump into comment threads and discussions. A lot of people seem to assume that productive conversation between people of conflicting views can't happen on the internet, but in my experience they're pretty common here. I think part of it may be the presence of more explicit incentives for behaving productively and respectably.

Thank you for the generous response.

I hear you, I did an article bashing steem over some of the same subjects. I don't know what to do. I'm moving my money out of it even though it's rising, but the only thing I find myself commenting on these days is something that I think will have a payout rather than the contents quality. I feel kinda lost right now with it. https://steemit.com/steemit/@bankholiday/steemit-is-dead

I think it still has a chance. There are a lot of people legitimately using it to share and communicate, and I'm seeing more move in. If we can keep the 'get rich quick' culture down enough not to scare them away in the early stages I think we have a chance at getting it sustainable.

@kromosoom

I'll just leave this here for you...

She rapes the reward pool like a... Well, there is no pleasant raping analogy.
dunno if you can do anything about it... in the last two weeks she's taking something like $1000 from the reward pool with minimal contributions, due to abusing the upvote bots.

Congratulations @troglodactyl. Your service to the Steem community through good flagging has been outlined in the following post. I hope it receives good rewards which I believe you are certainly due. Keep it up!

https://steemit.com/abuse/@steemflagrewards/steem-flag-rewards-pilot-fighting-blockchain-abuse

Since you allied yourself with this dude, it is worth posting it here:
No idea how busy you are and if you are aware of this:
https://steemit.com/@rewardpoolrape/comments
https://steemit.com/@eatsrewards/comments
Your old friend went on a crusade to destroy the STEEM blockchain.

I wouldn't say I'm allied with them. I downvoted a bunch of spam from those accounts a while ago also: https://steemit.com/rewardmyself/@rewardpoolrape/since-it-s-now-acceptable-to-reward-yourself

You downvoted him in this link, but upvoted him in other occasions, or am I wrong?

This comment has received a 14.29 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

This comment has received a 7.33 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

Congratulations @troglodactyl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well, I don't know what to think of this type of action. Recently I ran into a whale that flagged every single comment on a post because he either didn't like the content of the post, or he had a personal problem with the blogger. I told him he just wasted my time to which he responded; well you didn't have to, not understanding I was referring to the flagged comment. My answer back to him was; say what you want, do what you do, and all...
You know, on one hand you are right, on the other, I don't really need this kind of thing in my life. Merry Xmas! Greetings!

Do you attack all autovote paid vote and such systems? How about peoople upvoting their own post? My understanding is upvote if you like downvote because its plagiarism misleading simply bulshit offensive etc not because you personally dont agree with the content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51