You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shortsighted reward farming spam

in #abuse7 years ago

@troglodactyl I am relatively new to Steemit. I am here because I noticed you up-voted my very first post, a poem I wrote after suffering a stroke in 2015, Hiking With Epicurus. The inspiration for it came while out hiking, alone for the first time since the hemorrhage, and coming across a dead, fallen tree.
My goal is to create interesting, original, content, that will be an asset to the site. There is much that I don't get about the mechanics and hierarchy of Steemit. I figure if I keep plugging along, producing interesting content, and meeting like-minded people, all the time sharing in some rewards, that's great.
You seem to be an intelligent and principled person, reading through your dialog here. If there is any advice you have for a newbie I'm all ears.

Sort:  

I think you've got the right idea. This is still a young community and it's growing rapidly. There's a lot of chaos that comes with that, and a lot of short term opportunity both for productive and destructive activity. If we manage to sufficiently encourage the productive and discourage the destructive/parasitic, then there could be sustainable opportunity long term as well. Keep focusing on brightening and enlightening the lives of those around you here and I think you'll do fine.

As for advice beyond that, I'd encourage newcomers to jump into comment threads and discussions. A lot of people seem to assume that productive conversation between people of conflicting views can't happen on the internet, but in my experience they're pretty common here. I think part of it may be the presence of more explicit incentives for behaving productively and respectably.

Thank you for the generous response.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43