Yoga 2.0 - Relief for SciaticasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga7 years ago

Good day, Steemians!

These pains you feel are messengers. Listen to them. ~ Rumi

Do you suffer from sciatica? I can help with that! 

I fell in love with yoga when it cured my debilitating, chronic hip pain in less than a month. It was a legit miracle--I had no idea that was even possible!--so it's part of my mission to help others experience glorious freedom from pain too.

@immarojas asked for some yogic ways for dealing with sciatica, so I address that today in hopes that it brings relief to many! 


What is sciatica?

Nerve roots emerge and converge from the lower lumbar and sacral spine to form the sciatic nerve. It is the longest and largest nerve in the body. Compression or irritation of the sciatic nerve may result in sciatica.

Sciatica is a symptom of another condition. For example, it might be caused by 

  • a herniated disc that presses on the nerve
  • cartilage loss from something like osteoarthritis
  • spinal degeneration and the inflammatory proteins released in that condition
  • sitting for too long
  • poor posture
  • a tight piriformis muscle

It is marked by sharp, shooting, and/or searing pain; numbness; tingling; and/or weakness that radiates along the sciatic nerve from the lower back down to the butt, legs, and feet. It is typically felt on only one side of the body, and it often gets worse when sitting, coughing, or sneezing. 



image source

What can be done to relieve sciatica pain?

Thankfully, there are lots of things you can do to help yourself feel better!

  • Rest.
  • Get yourself a nice massage
  • Drink valerian tea.
  • Put some comfrey on it!
  • Take anti-inflammatories: ginger, turmeric, pineapple, garlic, rosemary, mint, lavender, coconut oil, and green tea, to name just a few.
  • Incorporate a few yoga asanas = postures into your daily routine. 

YOGA!

Stretching the spine is essential not only to relieve pain but to prevent spinal degeneration. Plus it feels really swell, like extra super duper awesome yummy amazing!!! 

Here are a few poses that help relieve sciatica pain when you hold them for just a minute or two (or ten!) daily:


Marichyasana I & variations, including this pictured twist


Reclining Pigeon


Reclining Hand to Big Toe Pose


Reclining Hand to Big Toe Pose II 


And Reclining Hand to Big Toe Pose III, in which you bring the leg back to center, cross it over the body, and drop it to the floor on the other side...use your imagination to see that because I don't have a picture today, or better yet just give it a go! 


Pigeon


Bow Pose


Additionally, any lengthening stretches, whether standing or supine, feel awesome & vastly improve spinal health. Try standing or laying down and reaching the arms overhead, really extending from toes all the way to the fingertips. You can add a little lean to one side, then the other.

I mean that's really it...just move your body in a couple ways that feel really great and have proven beneficial for thousands of years. Super accessible, super sustainable, super fun! 

And of course, a deep breath can always make anything better!


Now do you want to get into something...weird? 

I believe that physical pain is caused by something unaddressed at the emotional, mental, or spiritual level. It is a manifestation of energy in the material body because the disturbance in the force went unattended in the more subtle dimensions.

There is a medical intuitive I dig named Louise Hay. In her decades of experience, she observes sciatica is often correlated with "Being hypocritical. Fear of money and of the future." She recommends the mantras/affirmations, "I move into my greater good. My good is everywhere, and I am secure and safe" for individuals who want relief from sciatica.

If that makes sense to you, then run with it, meditate on it, see what comes up. If it doesn't resonate, then forget it--you're free to take it or leave it. 

In my own experience, my hip pain was definitely screaming at me to make some changes to be happier & healthier. And as soon as I embraced yoga, this crippling pain I'd had for years disappeared to the point I actually forgot I had ever had it. May that truth and potential inspire you! 

>:<>:< Happy Healing! >:<>:<








💛 Sara! 

Sort:  

Waww You have an Amazing Body @sarasmiller

This comment has received a 0.10 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

We must have a health bone and teeth.

This is truly great ! Some of the steps I have been using but you mentioned more here . I will try this all my friend !! Thank you so much for your recommendation. You are great girl here in Steemit .
Lots of wishes with love !

I hope it brings you great relief! Blessings @akkha~*~

Lets see dear ! You are so kind !!

Yoga is more than 10,000 years old Indian tradition. Though we think of yoga only as a physical exercise where people twist, turn, stretch, and breathe in the most complex ways, there are actually many more potential benefits for the human mind and soul. Thanks @saramiller for sharing these amazing yoga tips to get relief from Sciatica pain.

Yep, it's super deep and multi-dimensional! I love it!

Thank you my friend for the good job your doing in this community. Good job.

Okay i have place my hand, take it. keep steeming hot my loving and hard working friend.

Thank you for a beautiful post @saramiller ! Inspiring and you can feel your open heart for service!
I just wrote a post to inspire people to also practice meditation. Right now Udemy has amazing discount on high quality courses in meditation, mindfulness and many other methods of yogic union and personal growth! Epic. So check that out to and read my post! I will follow you. Much love / Linus
https://steemit.com/freedom/@linuslife/learn-meditation-mindfulness-or-heart-centered-breathing-at-udemy-with-incredible-discount

Thank you, @linuslife! It is an honor to have something of value to share that can help others feel better. I'm a big fan of meditation (although not a fan of spending money). Great to spread the word on that valuable practice too!

Yoga is good for the mind, body and soul. Thanks for sharing

I love Yoga. Thank you for your teaching.

I love it too!

Love thr Rumi quote @saramiller :) And Yoga, well it is essential for all people in many ways. Agree with @hms818 and @steemdream17 Yoga is more than physical. There are lots of aspects to yoga and is about keeping an eternal being in both mind, body and soul in correct balance.

Thank you for sharing.

Create a great day,
@kozan

Yeah man, yoga's super sweet! Grateful I can bring it to the blockchain.

Thanks for this great post! My mom just heard she has sciatica. I'll send her the link to this post! She'll love it!

Great, I hope it brings her lasting relief! Thanks for sharing it, @amy-goodrich!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69