How to Yoga - Pigeon Pose

in #health8 years ago

Good day, Steemians! 

It feels like a significant day,

and I'm really excited to share some things with you:
I want to tell you about a POSE!

I want to tell you about

a position

in which you can drape your body

and  the stress

and the tension

and the fear you hold in your being

can melt away--

you just lay down and breathe.

There's science behind this shit, 

you're engaging the psoas and sucking in some serious oxygen 

which is THE tool for detox, for breaking down and moving out

all that crap that's built up in your body/mind...but  I don't want to Science right now.

Please let me just show you how to yogasm: 



This is Pigeon Pose

AKA One-Legged King Pigeon Pose

AKA Thread the Needle

Eka Pada Rajakapotasana in Sanskrit

(eka = one, pada = foot, raja = king, kapota = pigeon or dove, asana = pose/posture)


This is the king.

This is the KING of kings.


This is humbling the ego to make space for a legit miracle.

This is laying down resistance for peace.

This was the revolution for me,

where I fell head over heels for yoga,

where what I thought was impossible

actually happened 

and it was not only not hard, but BLISSFUL!


I just don't even know what to say, man...

this is like the Steemit of asanas.

It feels so great and it works on so many levels--

when I'm in pigeon pose I wonder why I'm not in pigeon pose all the time.

And the payoff is deep and powerful.


I hope you try this and love it as much as I do.

I give thanks for this moment to pay it forward!

I'm grateful I get to share it with you!


How to PIGEON POSE

  • From down dog, step your right foot forward, femur straight out from your hip socket.
  • If you're into fine details, place your shin parallel to the short edge of the mat and flex your foot. If you're not, then just bend your knee at whatever angle feels good.
  • Extend through the back leg, pointing out through the foot.
  • Open up the front of the body, roll the shoulders back and the chest open.
  • Extend through the spine and through the crown.
  • Lower from the hips, coming wherever it feels comfortable--arms extended in front or forehead resting on stacked fists or forearms. Maybe you don't lower at all but choose to stay up, it's fine!
  • Direct the breath right to the hip.

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.

Make way for the new way to flow.



💛 Sara!

infinite thanks to the ever lovely @everlove for the photo

P.S. We make fully custom EPIC Steemit Ts--legit fit for a king!

Sort:  

I call this my "cry it out" pose. Lol. My absolute favorite! It's my go-to asana when I've been going through some shit. A lot of emotions come up and are released when I pigeon myself into a much needed cry. 😊❤️🙏🏻

One of my favorite poses too! I have had many a good cry in this pose--it's really incredible how much emotional and mental stuff comes up when you move the body in certain ways. Yoga provides an effective and responsible space for processing all that shit and clearing it out!

After reading this I need to go get on the heating pad :)

That sounds yummy!

I'll try this in my sesh tomorrow morning, looks tough!

Cg

It is totally worth it! And it gets easier and better with practice!

Yoga is a lot harder to do than it looks. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! It's all about perspective. It could be a great physical challenge, but it could also be a great blessing.

Tweeted Your Account on the Official @Steemit Twitter Account. Keep it Up Sara!
https://twitter.com/steemit/status/778619825425944576

steemit Steemit tweeted @ 21 Sep 2016 - 15:40 UTC

Learn How to do #Yoga on #Steemit with Sara! #HealthyLiving #Health

steemit.com/@saramiller / https://t.co/fEmCWhC4Ut
https://t.co/ThrHYdEGkT

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thank you, @twitterbot! This is most excellent!

AWESOME! That is so cool, thank you @hilarski! What a great start to my day!

Amazing work! We will be highlighting accounts that are producing amazing content on a consistent basis. It is on the Steemit FB page as well.

I greatly appreciate the support! Let's make the best Steemit we can!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34