How to Yoga - Bow PosesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians!


Spread love everywhere you go. Let no one ever come to you without leaving happier. -- Mother Teresa


Thankful for another day to figure out this mystery!
I'm here to serve; I'm here to share the timeless wisdom
I've gathered and to spread love and light and healing
as far and wide as I can.
I've been so low that I thought I was dead,
and I've been so high that I thought I could live forever.
I've learned tools and tricks that alchemize the darkness into
a blessing; I have experienced legit miracles.
I hope I'm getting better at communicating how to access them,
because there's nothing special about me - infinite potential
is available to one and all. Change is always possible!
No one is ever alone! Hope is never lost!
I know everything is in divine alignment, but still I pray that
anyone who needs sunshine will find me
and that I will rain it down upon them. This is my gift, and as
long as my ego stays out of the way, I love to share it.
Please enjoy more yoga! May your feel better than ever.
May you be firmly rooted in your own strengths and gifts.
May your own light shine blindingly!


This is Bow Pose

AKA Dhanurasana in Sanskrit

(dhanu = bow, asana = pose/posture)


Backbends counteract the effects of hunching over a computer all day.


Bow pose opens the chest, shoulders, and neck;
it's a huge benefit to take a posture for a few seconds to minutes
a day that can balance the position in which
most desk workers hold their bodies for hours on end each day.
Slumping posture and rounded shoulders impede the breath
in ways that are seriously detrimental to health;
truly the breath is the biggest factor towards a life of thrival.

Yoga encourages us to move our bodies in ways
we don't normally move; this can stir up all kinds of
emotional discomfort. That's part of the point of yoga,
to face the unknown from a space of love, support, peace,
and possibility. You're training your mental posture
as much as your physical body.

Bow pose can relieve constipation, respiratory ailment,
mild backache, fatigue, anxiety, and menstrual discomfort.
It stimulates the reproductive organs
and strengthens the core, legs, and arms.
It increases flexibility of the spine, chest, and shoulders.
As with most poses, it's great for stress relief!

Backbends are great physical and breathing exercises!
Breathing can feel awkward when you press into
the full expression of this pose, but
that need not be any kind of deterrent.
Bring your awareness to the breath; keep breathing!
Yoga is all about the breath. 

This pose is not recommended for pregnant ladies
or anyone with a hernia or who has recently had
abdominal surgery. For anyone else, let it rip! 

This is a great warm up for backbend as well.


How to BOW POSE:

  • From lying face down, bend the knees.
  • Reach back and grasp the ankles.
  • Flex the feet.
  • Inhale and lift the head, neck, chest, and shoulders off the ground.
  • Lift the legs; press the ankles into the hands to help extend.
  • Press the pelvis into the ground.
  • Keep the knees together with the knee caps pointed towards the back of the mat.
  • Raise up until you find a spot that feels great to balance on.

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out. 

Breathe in, breathe out.



💛 Sara!
P.S. We offer hand painted Steemit gear through @steemrollin's honorable Peerhub Marketplace.

My wee spot of thanks:
Thank you, Jah! So grateful you are with me all the time. Thank you yoga for showing me your ways! Thank you @quinneaker...one day I'll have the words to explain every way you've blessed me and improved my life; you really did save me. Thank you @everlove for sharing your home and space with me! Oh, @steemit...one day I'll have the right words for you too. You've changed everything, and I'm so grateful to be part of this revolution! 

Sort:  

So grateful for all you are @saramiller. Blessed to be sharing this life with you.

What a trip it is, yeah? Thank you @everlove 💛

FYI, there's a bug with using 5 tags which i don't think has been fixed. Only the first tag works when 5 tags are used. I suggest you drop one tag . :-)

Thanks for the heads up, @ace108!

you're welcome. I try to remember to check the tags of the post from people I follow.:-)

I am about to go do this pose right now!!

Great one !! resteemed, upvoted !!

Thank you @stylezion! Much appreciated!

I loved this post so much, because I also practise yoga . Sounds familiar to me 😊💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01