1979 - When I first discovered I wanted to be a rock star. For x-daysofmusicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #x-daysofmusic6 years ago (edited)

Another year of this #x-daysofmusic challenge set up by @backinblackdevil.

More Top of The Pops memories and my first album purchase (Geoff Love does not count)!

Electric Light Orchestra - Shine A Little Love


From Discovery

Discovery was the first real album I bought. In Martins Newsagent in Camberley. I sold some Lego to finance the purchase - that's how serious I was! This was the first single, and it's a great slice of pop. It's a bit disco-y for my usual taste, but I didn't notice at the time and now it's just part of my youth.

AC/DC - Touch Too Much


From Highway to Hell. Couldn't find a Top of The Pops version

I remember seeing this on Top of The Pops and being blown away. This as what I wanted to listen to from now on. Hell, this was what I wanted to be! I swear the version on ToTP was different to the album version - different chanting section. A brilliant slice of sleaze from Bon Scott's final album.

Thin Lizzy - Waiting for an Alibi


From Black Rose

A slight nod to new wave, but this is still twin-guitar metal from a band at their commercial peak. Black Rose even has folk tunes on it - for the first time since the Eric Bell days.

Frank Zappa - Watermelon In Easter Hay


From Joe's Garage Acts II & III

A studio backing track in 5/4 + 4/4 under a guitar solo recorded in concert. An absolute gem of a track.
Despair in 9/4. I always thought there should be an animated video to this - Joe, having survived rock & roll and prison, is released into a world he can't understand. He wanders the streets of a small American town before finding a job on assembly line. Similar to the yellow submarine travelling through Liverpool, but gloomy.
The only track in this post I didn't discover in 1979 - Zappa didn't enter my life for another 10 years.

Motörhead - No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith - Overkill


From Overkill

Motörhead's finest hour - a whole gig in one song. If this doesn't make you want to jump aroound in a crowd of people and bump into them repeatedly, then you're probably a well-adjusted person. For the rest of us, this is the reason to join a mosh-pit.

Joe Jackson - Is She Really Going Out With Him?


From Look Sharp!

The debut single from a great songwriter. Total teen angst. The first two albums were very angular and would have been more at home in the New York new wave scene than the UK punks. Anthrax covered 'Got The Time' from the same album, which gives an idea of how far beyond 'pop' Jackson reached.

All the above videos are taken from YouTube, mostly courtesy of people who don't hold the rights.

My days of music: 1967 - 1968 - 1969 - 1970 - 1971 - 1972 - 1973 - 1974 - 1975 - 1976 - 1977 - 1978

Sort:  

Very nice compilation ... I especially like Frank Zappa and Joe's Garage and I hear them now also :-) The other music pieces are also very good!
Wish you a nice time and fun!

Thanks @jeenger!

Congratulations @hockney! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments. Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

@hockney, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

I love that people remember through music, this reduces the alzaimer

Danke das du an der Aktion vom @backinblackdevil teilgenommen hast. Du erhälst als dank ein kleinens Upvote vom @curationhelper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65316.48
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65