1967: Born under a good sign. For x-daysofmusicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #x-daysofmusic5 years ago (edited)

@Steevc nominated me a few days ago...

According to Wikipaedia, in the first week of August 1967, Luna 5 was photographing the dark side of the moon. Pink Floyd's first album 'The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn' was released. Milwaukee was recovering from the race riots that closed the city for ten days.

1967 was a great year for rock'n'roll. My collection includes all of these gob-smacking albums: Sell Out, Days Of Future Passed, Velvet Underground & Nico, Absolutely Free, Big Brother & The Holding Company, Lumpy Gravy, The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn, I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You, Safe As Milk, The Grateful Dead, John Wesley Harding, Disraeli Gears.
Trying to cull these down to a decent number is tough, so let's start here:

Aretha Franklin - I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You

I've decided to go with live recordings, rather than recorded versions. Mainly 'cos this video is fabulous!
I first encountered Aretha kicking out 'The Blues Brothers' from her diner. When we lived in New York we got to see her perform at Radio City Music Hall and she could still belt out the hits like she does here. It was a 2-hour show, she was on stage for most of it and kicked off her shoes so she could dance properly! This song is a perfect example of the strength and vulnerability Aretha was able to generate.

Captain Beefheart - Electricity

A mimed performance with the Magic Band
If you only ever read one rock'n'roll memoir the size of a house brick, make it John 'Drumbo' French's 'Beefheart: Through the Eyes of Magic'. It's astonishing for many things, including French's worship of Beefheart's genius while decrying his bullying and abuse. Safe as Milk is a stunning debut album of Californian desert white-boy blues. It also marks very early studio work by Ry Cooder as arranger, if not actual performer. I'll take this album over pretty much any of the rest of Beefheart's output. 'Electricity' is the song which points to where Beefheart was heading and the slow/fast transitions are spot on.
From Beefheart, we naturally move to...

Frank Zappa - Lumpy Gravy##

Couldn't find a live version from the original Mothers, and what I could find for 1967 didn't do it for me
Not the whole album, but the bouncy main theme. I didn't 'get' Frank Zappa until a few days after his final tour of the UK (dammit!). After that I bought everything I could find and Lumpy Gravy is still one of my favourites.
Zappa was a Los Angeles boy who moved to New York in order to make it. Meanwhile across the country in San Francisco, this lot were happening...

Grateful Dead - Viola Lee Blues


The Grateful Dead's first album is remarkably successful in reducing the extended blues workouts of their live shows into succinct 2-to-5 minute songs. Except for this one, where the album version hits 10 minutes. This is a straight blues song like most of the Dead's early repertoire and thunders along nicely.

Moody Blues - Tuesday Afternoon


There is a compilation album - 'This is The Moody Blues' - which resequences material from their first seven albums and a couple of b-sides and is really all you need from The Moody Blues. I played my copy to death and even loved the fatuous poetry. Days Of Future Passed included 'Nights in White Satin', but you've heard that too many times. This is the polite side of psychedelia, after the American bands and brings us nicely to a close.

All the videos were are on YouTube, mostly courtesy of people who don't hold the rights.

The rules are to be interpreted as you like really, but are something like this:
Pick years from when you were born to now. It really doesn't have to be all of them
Feature some songs from one of those years in a post with some details about why you like them. You can write something about the year in general too.
Nominate another Steemian
Use the hashtag #x-daysofmusic

Sort:  

I don't think I've ever heard any of those songs, even though I do know of most of the artists
This is a great series that keeps givng us surprises, kicking up some real gems, and I hope, turning a lot of readers onto some exciting music they would otherwise never discovered

thx for join my challenge .... Is a great honor for me

It's a great challenge - I shall credit you in the future episodes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29