1974: A Music Explosion for x-daysofmusicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #x-daysofmusic6 years ago (edited)

Another year of this challenge set up by @backinblackdevil.

Music Explosion.jpg Photo Credit: Discogs

There was only one thing my sister and I wanted for Christmas in 1974: K-Tel's Music Explosion! "22 ORIGINAL HITS; 22 ORIGINAL STARS". There may have been other things happening in popular culture and music that year, but for me it's all wrapped up in this cheap slab of vinyl, long since mislaid in the bargain-bin of time.
Music Explosion 2.jpg Photo Credit: Discogs

That makes it the first album I ever wanted and owned (although technically it was a gift to my sister)!
Music Explosion 3.jpg Photo Credit: Genesis Museum.com

There's a couple of songs on the album I can't immediately bring to mind - but most of 'em I know by heart.

Here's a few that have stood the test of time...

Bryan Ferry - The 'In' Crowd

From Another Time Another Place

There's not much difference between early Brian Ferry solo work and the Roxy Music output. It always seems a little posher than anyone else's art-rock. Over-used in commercials ever since, as advertisers know no irony.

Terry Jacks - Seasons In The Sun


A Jacques Brel song - I do like a bit of Brel; cream of the crop depressing songwriters. Yes it's gone up and down in acceptability over the years, and been ripped off mercilessly by every comedy act ever, but if you let the message sink in, it still hits home.

Genesis - I Know What I Like

From Selling England by the Pound

To me, being a somewhat literally-minded lad, it was all from the point-of-view of a lawnmower. If it's not, then I don't want to know. I'm not much of a Genesis fan, but this song totally justifies their existence. "Me, I'm just lawnmower, you can tell me by the way I walk."

Stealers Wheel - Stuck In The Middle


Never mind Reservoir Dogs, how scary are this lot? Gerry Rafferty & co deliver a hippy classic.

Sparks - This Town Ain't Big Enough For The Both Of Us

From Kimono My House

An eternal classic. Lovingly resurrected a few years ago with Faith No More, for no obvious reason. Also performed by FFS (Franz Ferdinand Sparks on their tours). No idea what the video is supposed to be, but it's good to see the use of a gazebo in a pop video.

All the above videos are taken from YouTube, mostly courtesy of people who don't hold the rights.

The rules are to be interpreted as you like really, but are something like this:
Pick years from when you were born to now. It really doesn't have to be all of them
Feature some songs from one of those years in a post with some details about why you like them. You can write something about the year in general too.
Nominate another Steemian
Use the hashtag #x-daysofmusic

My days of music: 1967 - 1968 - 1969 - 1970 - 1971 - 1972 - 1973

Sort:  

Ha!, I (being born in 1978 in the GDR) at least know "Sugar Baby Love" and "Kung Fu Fighting" (or rather have a melody in my head for each). I'm happy now. :)

Bryan Ferry starred in a guest role in a German TV series lately. I knew his name before but nothing else about him.
How cool is it that he is still around and a decent singer? He would even sing in German for the film. Unfortunately the film company has an eye on their property so there's no excerpt from the film showing his gig. This is the song as used in the film for a 1929 nightclub scene:

I'd not heard this - thanks!
He has got a phenomenal voice - it seems to have aged well - like a good whisky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43