W.W.'s TOP 5 PHOTOS OF STEEMIT :: 002

in #wwtop5pix7 years ago (edited)

To learn about W.W.'s Top 5 Photos of Steemit, visit this post.

If you would like to increase the visibility of your photos
for W.W.'s Top 5 Photos of Steemit, be sure to use this tag:

#wwtop5pix

:: REMINDER::

This is not a contest. It is merely my own subjective opinion; a collection of images that speak to me the loudest. The only requirement I have is that they must be original photographs that you created.

Also, none of the images I'm promoting will ever be found in my posts. To view them, you must visit the original post from the creator, where I implore you to upvote them.

ALL LIQUID EARNINGS OF THESE POSTS
WILL BE SHARED WITH THE PHOTOGRAPHERS.

Today's Top 5 Photos on Steemit

1. NGC 6946 With Supernova by @jarm

Now this is something I've personally wanted to do myself. I'm absolutely fascinated with astrophotography, and have been able to capture events like lunar & solar eclipses, the Transit of Venus, and even a comet, all just with a measely 70-200mm telephoto lens. Seeing stuff like this desperately makes me want to purchase a large telescope.

2. On The Run by @angel35mm

Just as I said in my reply to this post, these motion shots aren't easy to get every time. They can be tricky. The best chance to do it is when you have plenty of "following room" to aim the camera and follow the subject to match its speed before snapping the image. At any point she could've gone behind a building or a car and the image would be lost. Possibly with no 2nd chance. Timing is everything and all moments are fleeting, and for these reasons, a photographer's attention span tends to be sharp, like @angel35mm. He's got a nice series of shots like this throughout his blog, as well as other equally impressive imagery. Check it out.

3. Architectural Photography Contest | St Paul's by @sammarkjames

This one caught my eye for 2 reasons:

  • Firstly, it's a great black & white architectural photo. It's got excellent contrast between the main building in the middle compared to the darkened sky in the background, and the monstrously huge buildings brooding in the foreground, shadowing everything below, really give the sense of how small you are. Like being lost in a maze.
  • And secondly, because it was shot on a freaking iPhone!! What does this mean to me? It means that @sammarkjames is probably a photographer who knows how to work an image, no matter what device shot it. I've said it time and time again, that the best camera you can have for any given situation is whichever one you can get to first.
    This post is close to its cutoff point, so if you want to vote on it, I suggest getting over there as soon as you see this. ;-)

4. Just a mushroom in a window... by @joviandres

My favorites out of the 4 images in this post are the first and last ones. The first one because I find it to be very pleasing, particularly in black & white. While I do enjoy the color in the second image, the black & white of the first truly showcases the mushroom's texture. The macro close-up of the last image - although in color - is what strikes me about that one. The connection of the stem to the cap in that one also seems pleasing to me probably because it aligns with the rule of thirds, with the point of connection happening in the upper-right quadrant of the image. The inward-moving grooves of the underside of the cap really draw one's eye into the center of the image.

5. birds #1113 by @digitalis

@digitalis seems to be quite the bird & bug watcher. They know how to take incredibly sharp photos of them, anyway. The first image in this post is what grabbed my attention. According to the info in the post, it was taken with a 150-600mm lens... a sharp one at that. When you peruse @digitalis's profile, you'll find quite the snazzy collection of both birds & insects. :) Go check it out.

Thanks for tuning into 002!!

Now go follow and/or vote on the aforementioned photographers! They deserve it!



Sort:  

Wow thanks @winstonwolfe! :)

Thanks for the mention Mr. Wolf!

Congratulations @digitalis! Good to see you made the list! Mild typo on the second link for @digitalis @winstonwolfe Thanks for shining a light on the photographic community!

Thanks. Can't find the typo, though.

"When you peruse @digitals's profile, you'll find quite the snazzy collection of both birds & insects. :) Go check it out." Missed the "i". No big deal, but the link is broken.

Oh! That sneaky "i". It's fixed now. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Winston Wolfe from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 13 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Congrats to the winners, wow @angel35mm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18