How to win over temptations, distractions?

in #writing6 years ago

You want to eat less sugary food because you know too much sugar makes you fat.

You want to eat less fatty food, because you know too much saturated and trans fat causes cardiovascular diseases.

You want to write steemit posts daily because you enjoy writing OR enjoy seeing the SBDs rolling in.

You set goals and determined to follow through it. You told yourself that you will eat less sugary and fatty foods, exercise every day and write steemit posts every day.

But there are hidden enemies around you stopping you, or rather, delaying you. They're hidden because you don't know their bad intentions.

You know Facebook, Instagram, Twiter and other social mediums, right? You know cakes, sweets, and soda drinks, right? What would you do if your favourite cake is right in front of you when you walked pass?

Imagine your favourite cake here.

Image Source

What would you do when Facebook app is the first thing you see when you unlock your phone/computer?


Image Source

Your body acted before your mind. You took a slice of cake and told yourself, "It's okay, just a small slice". You opened the Facebook app and scrolls down and down with the time you should've used to exercise. "It's okay, just a few minutes." And hours of your lifetime flew by.

I call these hidden enemies temptations and distractions. Hidden because they're there on your face but you don't know they're keeping you away from your rightful tracks of actions.

This is frightening. Because you don't know what you don't know.

I have good news and bad news for you.
Good news is there are ways to realize and win for yourself. Bad news is, you gotta make effort, more for some.

How to know you're kept away from your rightful tracks?

Set a purpose. This purpose is your track towards success. Anything you want to do in a day that does not fit your track, are temptations and distractions.

My purpose today is to finish 3 posts in @maverickfoo's Boiler Room meetup. The temptations and distractions are my surroundings and my chocolate drink. A part of me wanted to take off my earphones and join them to chat and laugh along with them. The place behind me sounds more fun than writing. Yet another part of me wants to keep writing and schedule 3 posts by 5:00 PM.


Taken by @maverickfoo
I am the girl sitting another table and looking behind. That was me when I was thinking "It's more fun behind."

Very clearly, I knew what I needed to do. I need to fully focus on my 3 posts today, because I am beginning my first Money Lesson series, and it's compact with learnings. It's one of my longest and most compact post. Anything other than my purpose, are temptations and distractions.

How did I won over the part of me that wants to chat?

I told myself "I don't chat because I want to finish 3 posts."

Notice the difference.

"I don't chat." vs "I can't chat."


Made in Canva.com

I can't is telling yourself you do not have the ability to chat, but you have it. You are already contradicting yourself. I can't gives you the feeling that you are forced, that you are given no choice to chat. You feel so much more involuntary and resistance.

I don't is telling yourself you are not the kind of person who wants to chat. You gain control of yourself and become the type of person that you want to be. You feel you are given a choice to be, or not to be. You feel so much more voluntary and freedom.

For example,

"I don't eat sugary cake." vs "I can't eat sugary cake."

What feelings were invoked in you when you say these 2 sentences?


Similar Posts that you want to read,

Your Elevation May Require Your Isolation

How Do You Survive the Random Hurricanes of Outcome?

5 Techniques to Create Goals That Make You Want To Act On Them Right Now!

How People With Major Challenges Seem to Draw Strength from Them?

Some Dream of Success while Some Wake up and Work Hard for It


@tifaong writes simple and positive practices and ideas that you can learn (or re-learn) and apply in your life immediately. She covers life lessons, self-help, relationships, and motivational contents. Her mission is to spread positivity so that we can live a happier, fulfilling life.

Check out her profile here to find out more 😁

She has committed to post daily, so rest assured that you will find something new everyday.

She is also a proud member of,

#Newbieresteemday

#Greetersguild


Follow @greetersguild and join us on discord to learn more (newbies and non newbies welcome). We are always looking for more Greeters to join our team! https://discord.gg/3jYNPUx

Qurator

SmartSteem

Sort:  

That is a very nice way to stop yourself from temptations and I can feel the difference in the sentences but I think to really make a difference a deeper approach is needed, but the way you described is a good band aid to stop you from giving in to temptation

It's the first level of resistance that anyone can use, but ...
Yeah, I think need a deeper approach too, but I don't know any techniques. What do you have in mind?

A good way will be to ask yourself why do you do what you do, who is this person giving in to these temptations and how do these habits define me. The answers to these questions might change the Reason you give in to these temptations to begin with. I quit smoking after 17 years when I realised why O smoked in the first place and who am I, the smoker.
I hope I explained it well, it cannot be done right of the bat and takes some contemplation to figure out

I hadn’t thought of that distinction before - great of you to make it so clear 😄 I just wish the days had 38 hours so I could do all my «have too’s» AND all my «want too’s» 🤣

Hey @lil-mich, it's great to see you around. Hahaha, you must've a lot of things you have to do and want to do XD
I wish you all the best @lil-mich! You can do it!

haha thanks @tifaong :) I really need it for one of my Projects where I need to learn a New skill - I can do it!! :)

Yes!! Believing that you can make a choice ( saying that you don't ) is empowering, while believing that you don't have a choice ( you can't ) is crippling.. A mere difference in a single word, yet a world of difference in impacting our perspective and subsequently, our actions!!

Hey @aaronmcheong, RIGHT! It's making a world of difference when you change just ONE WORD.
It just shows how powerful our words are towards ourselves.

Yeap it's powerful indeed. This is a great article, keep it up @tifaong!! :)

Sorry for the late reply @aaronmcheong, thank you!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67