5 Techniques to Create Goals That Make You Want To Act On Them Right Now!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Coach KarFei, one of the top 30 Forbes Coaches Council member has organized a free personal development workshop today at WORQ located in Glo Damansara.

Coach KarFei has coached us to manage one of the most common problems when setting goals. When you set goals, you're very motivated and excited. You said you want to get that nice toned tanned body. You said you want to get promoted. You said you want to get that hot guy.

Heard of the idiom easier said than done?

You said your goals, you keep it in your mind, you kind of remember it, then you forgot the actual details of your goals. Till a point you forgot your real goals.

Coach KarFei has helped us break that with the 5 techniques.

Technique One: Start with Clarity


Image Source
Why do you want to achieve your goals? Choose 1 goal and ask yourself this question. Repeat 3 times.

My goal is to become the most earned writer on Steemit.

Why do I want to achieve this goal?
Because I want to write and earn to sustain my family and me.

Why do I want to write and earn?
Because I love writing and make it as part of my money-earning career.

Why do I love writing?
Because I want to inspire and change people's lives through my writing.

Why do I want to inspire and change others?
Because my vocation is to be an advocate for simple practices that enable you to live a happier, more fulfilled life.

This is my end goal.

Follow up question: Are there other ways for you to achieve the end goal?

Yes, of course. Volunteer, coaching, training and working for a relevant NGO. But I love writing more than I love myself.

Technique Two: Get an accountability partner.


Image Source

This partner keeps track of you, making sure that you are progressing steadily, consistently to your goals. Find someone who understands your goal, who can challenge and push you more.

The accountability partner's role is to make sure the other person is doing something he has set to reach his goals, every day.

My accountability partner is @williamsyee. From time to time, he will check in with me if I am writing my posts daily. I have told him that my daily habit is to submit at least 1 post per day. If I didn't post, he will ask for reasons.

Technique Three: Confidence vs Competence

When you're competent enough, you'll eventually gain confidence. However, results are never immediate. You may be getting more competent but confidence level may not increase as it should.

This chart clearly shows that in reality, confidence does not increase in proportional to competence. But at one point, you will experience an exponential growth. There's a way for you to get to that point RIGHT NOW, regardless of your competence level.

Be the person that you need to be when you have achieved your goals.

What kind of person would be the most earned writer on Steemit?

  • She would write really, really high-quality content that all curators would want to vote for her.
  • She would be humble and willing to share her strategies.
  • She would engage with people that matter to her on Steemit regularly.
  • She would help communities and initiatives that resonate with her.
  • She would always be learning how to write better and better.
  • She would write contents that will inspire and change people's lives.

To gain confidence, I am behaving like the most earned writer RIGHT NOW. Confidence comes as a natural course of the reaction.

And I can tell you confidently, I am nowhere near competent to be the kind of person I want to be. But I am behaving like her, the future me.

Technique Four: Write down your goals.


Image Source
A visual cue is a powerful tool to keep you motivated. One of them is Vision Board. Write down your goals, paste it somewhere you can see it every day (without fail), and be reminded of your goals every day.

Somehow, someday, you will find ways to achieve them. But if you put them in your archives or solely memory, you'll eventually forget. This is psychologically proven.

Technique Five: You are attached to your goals emotionally.


Image Source

Imagine how you would feel when you have achieved your goals.

Imagine how you would feel when someone took your goals away.

If you feel happy on the former and painful on the latter, you are emotionally attached to your goals. Emotions are one of the greatest drivers to make you feel like you want to do something right now.

When I meditate, I imagine my goals in the next 3 years. What my life will look like, feel like when I have achieved my goals in 3 years time? I imagined them as real as possible, to the point I can feel how inspired I am when I am writing my next masterpiece and how fulfilled I am when people commented my masterpiece has benefited them.

These feelings drive me further.


Time To Practice


Image Source

For you to benefit what I had, I ask for 20 minutes of your time to do this simple practice. A tip here is to imagine as clear as possible.

  1. Write down 1 most important goal.
  2. Ask yourself why do you want to achieve that goal x3.
  3. Ask yourself what other ways can you achieve the final goal?
  4. Imagine the kind of person that has achieved that goal. What are his/her behaviors, attitude, manners and looks?
  5. Imagine yourself being that kind of person and achieved your 1 most important goal. What kind of life would you be leading? What would you feel?
  6. Imagine someone taking away that goal from you. What do you feel?

Congratulations! You have just completed all 5 Techniques to create achieve your goals right now! But you don't stop here.

Just like bathing, motivation needs to be filled every day.

This practice re-focus your motivation and energy to what really matters.


@tifaong writes simple and positive practices and ideas that you can learn (or re-learn) and apply in your life immediately. She covers life lessons, self-help, relationships, and motivational contents. Her mission is to spread positivity so that we can live a happier, fulfilling life.

Check out her profile here to find out more 😁

She has committed to posting daily, so rest assured that you will find something new every day.

She is also a proud member of,

#Newbieresteemday

#Greetersguild


Follow @greetersguild and join us on discord to learn more (newbies and nonnewbies welcome). We are always looking for more Greeters to join our team! https://discord.gg/3jYNPUx

Qurator

SmartSteem

Sort:  

Congratulations, you have been resteemed because you used the #newbieresteemday tag and have a good post!

red-diamond.gif

taglifter giphy.gif

The tag-lifter looks for good #newbieresteemday posts to resteem to his 2500+ followers!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tifaong from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59263.92
ETH 2580.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46