Creator's Alert - New Year's Writing/Creation Contest -Steem Prize

in #writing8 years ago

  • Theme - The difference between 2016 and 2017 IS...
  • Prize - 5 Steem +100% of Steem/SD generated by contest posts (this post and the voting post combined)

How the contest works:

1- Write a post or create a visual medium on your Steemit blog in which you describe what difference(s) the incoming year (2017) will bring, and how it will be different than the current year (2016). The change may be personal or it may be related to something outside yourself (the world as a whole, the space program, your family, the growth of Steemit etc etc)
2- Post a link to your creation on THIS post WITH a summary of your work, by December 28, 0800 CST
3- I will put up a second post sometime during the 28th with your links and summaries; I will set up comments to be voted on linking you to your entry. MAKE SURE I HAVE ADDED YOU TO THE NEW POST IF YOU ENTERED ON TIME
4- Readers will vote on your submissions; voting will close by December 30, noon CST.
5- The entry with the highest votes will get all Steem/Steem Dollars generated by both posts total; ties will split the prize (we had a tie in the Christmas contest!)

Rules

  • He who writes with the most votes wins!
  • One entry per Steemer
  • All Steemers are eligible; there is no minimum Rep requirement
  • I reserve the right to flag hate-filled rants ( I can't believe I have to say this, but we had such a rant on the Christmas contest)
  • Remember the contest runs across two posts, and the second post will decide the contest. Please ask if I have not been clear!

Not Necessary, but Helpful

  • Resteem both contest posts so that others can compete, and possibly upvote your work!
  • Read other folks' submissions, upvote the post on THEIR blog
  • Tell other contestants how great their entry was
  • Don't forget to vote for yourself!
  • Let's fill Steemit to the brim with new content!

Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year!

New Year's Fireworks, By Ernst Vikne (Nyttårsaften i Skien Uploaded by Arsenikk) [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Sort:  





New Years offers the promise of change—otherwise, why would we look forward to it? We all await the coming of the new in the hope that we will not spend another year given over to the self-defeating games we usually play. Yes, a new year is about to begin and the difference between 2016 and 2017 will not lie in events, happenstance, personal goal setting or the making of resolutions. Because real significant change does not consist so much in having a good year, as a good life—and that kind of metamorphosis and maturation requires a change of heart.





My story, New Years In Samoa illustrates how this kind of heart-change can bring about a profound life-change. Here is the link and my wish is that as you read the story its truth will whisper to your heart.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@johnjgeddes/new-years-in-samoa-no-resolutions-for-2017-just-real-significant-life-change

Loved this story - it's an attitude vs formula challenge. Out with the old, in with the new - not in the new year's shallow sense, but in a real heart sense.

Very well written, great dialogue and characters. My heart sank with your character too when he returned to an empty house. I saw the deeper meaning though before he did...because I'm smarter :)

you are smarter - some people need a major wake-up call. Craig needed a cosmic two by four to the side of the head :)

Entered! I haven't read you story yet, but I will by the time I set up the voting post.

I have an idea for one, will hopefully have the time to write it 🙃

Hey this is cool! Everyone must be off writing!! Check out my poetry dice contest for 25 steem if you like, too! XO

Robyn, feel free to post the link to your contest here!

OK, Steve, you've done it again... Moved me to write something new and different. Here's my entry:

Steemit, 2017📅 - New Modes of Thinking

Thank you, and ENTERED!

I'll set up the voting post manana!

I'm going to be OFF of Steemit over the holidays, but I'm not gone for good. Go ahead and continue to submit entries for the contest post!

This post made 0.038 SD, 0.184 STEEM,

Hopefully, the contest post will do much better!

Please enter me. I am just finishing. That you for that spark of creativity..... Here it is.

I can enter your poem as is, but it would be better if you give us a summary :)

Ok where do I do that? In the post itself?

It's OK, I'll take care of it ;)

For the next time, though, yes, you would have put the summary in the same comment as the link

Ok :) I would have if I knew. Thanks.

sbd_symbol.png
I have a contest in progress for 10-50 SBD
Check it out if you need some extra Juice in your wallet.
Contest Post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68183.21
ETH 3545.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82