Round Two of the Shipwreck Creative Writing Challenge

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

Thank you for submitting your entries for Round 1!

I've collected them all in a Google Sheet and the members of the jury already have access. I'm already impatient to see their ratings and announce them in one of the next updates. You still have about 8 hours to finish your entries for Round 1 and submit them on time.

Have fun with Round 2!

ROUND 2

If you are a participant continue with the given prompts below.

Deadline to submit an entry for Round 2 is February 2 at Midnight, US, EST.

If you are not a participant, but improving your writing is an important aspect of your success on Steemit then you can follow along with the prompts given at every Round and even submit your own stories in the queue.

The queue is a free of charge service created and developed by @thewritersblock. Writers get their works reviewed and receive advice for improvements. More info here and in the end of the post.


Option 1: The Unsinkable Sam


Write a story based on the facts you can discover about this incredible cat.

1.1.jpg

Use only this source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unsinkable_Sam

Remember: This story should be somehow tied to the historical facts. It's still fine to write your own interpretation, however it might slightly decrease your final score for this round.


Option 2: Тhere's something wrong with this island...


Write in first person, simple past tense. You are a shipwreck survivor and thanks to the fact you swim well you reach an unknown island you’ve spotted right before you jump in the water.

2.jpg

Pick an interesting title and begin the story with: I realized there's something wrong with this island...


Option 3: The Sea Wolf


Write a story about a sea adventurer who’s making an attempt to cross the Atlantic Ocean with his small boat.

3.jpg

Start with: It was a glorious morning...


PRIZE POOL

--

Currently:

1st place gets: 3 SBD and 65 Whaleshares and the GOLD MEDAL of the Shipwreck Writing Challenge

2nd place gets: 2 SBD and 55 Whaleshares and the SILVER MEDAL of the Shipwreck Writing Challenge

3rd place gets: 1 SBD and 45 Whaleshares and the BRONZE MEDAL of the Shipwreck Writing Challenge

4rd place gets: 40 Whaleshares

5th place gets: 35 Whaleshares

6th place gets: 30 Whaleshares


There will be also small awards for the lovely jury and the rest of the participants.

However if you participate, my personal advice is aiming at some of the first 3 places.



Sponsors & Supporters:


This contest is sponsored by @krazykrista - the kindest moderator at the Whaleshares Community.

Join the Whaleshares Community here.

U5dr5exPRq1Ndh5TUCWfunNfYPHqn4d_1680x8400.jpg

There’s a jury consisting of 3 members of @thewritersblock:

Join The Writer's Block Discord community here.

The jury will read and rate the submissions from 1 to 10. Each participant might get maximum 10 points for the each round.

Enjoy writing!

Yours,
@steemfluencer

Credits:
Created by Alvaro_cabrera - Freepik.com
Designed by Freepik
Images sources: Pixabay.com, thebestcatpage.com

Sort:  

You did! Thank you for submitting on time! :)

Wowow.. what a title! Thank you! Round 3 is here.

Thank you @nobyeni! Round 3 is already here. I hope, you'll enjoy it : )

This is more my thing! All three prompts are so exciting! The first is just asking for experimentation, and the 2nd and 3rd are exactly the kind of thing I turn into a depressing tale about a struggling yet unsuccessful protagonist trying to survive against impossible odds.

I remember having met a cat called The Unsinkable Sam in an RPG game once... And I just realized I lost my save when my laptop died... Divinity: Original Sin was the game. Now I know where the cat came from!

Happy to see you like the prompts! As for the Unsinkable Sam in Divinity: Original Sin - that's insane. I'm always excited when dots are being connected in such an unexpected manner.

OK, now I have to switch gears! Think I'll go in a completely different direction than Round 1 :)

This is something that puts a smile on my face! :)

I cannot resist Sam! Oh my lort, somebody save me from attempting this! #Greatprompt.

First time crossing on Sam?

I am tempted to write this from the perspective of Sam.

I was hoping someone would Jon.

Lets keep the momentum going! Round 2 here we come! All aboard!

Thank you for the submission! Let's see what you could come up with for this round. I'd enjoy spending my coffee with your story when I wake up tomorrow morning. Same applies for everyone else who still haven't heard from me under their stories.

Good night! :)

OK! Interesting choices... and I thought we had one week off... but no. Probably better, to keep those writing muscles flexed!

If you were among the ones who had to finish 9 stories and had 48 hours for each, you would feel 7 days is like a month.

Yea....THAT one was a real challenge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59084.94
ETH 3240.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32