Lost In Morgue Land: Welcome (Part 1)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Image from: pxhere.com


It is cold in here. 

And what's that smell? Ugh, it smells like hospital, but why is it dark? And tight? And I don't seem to be able to move.

Where the hell am I? How long was I out? And what was I doing before everyting blacked out?

Oh! I can hear something. Great! Now someone is going to get me out.

Steps and metalic clinging sounds keep coming closer.

A small door opens and...

Ah! Light, good, it must be the electrician that came to fix the lighting. But why can't I see anything? What is this thing around me? And why does light come in only through this weird zip line?

Is this a sleeping bag I am in? I don't remember going camping. I was, I was... 

Where was I last night?

The bag starts rocking.

Hey! Hey! Careful with that! Don't you know there is someone in here, mister? Or... lady? Or whatever you are! 

A zipper is going down and the bag now opens.

Aaah! Phew! Air! White ceiling, white lights, white uniform guys. This I don't like.

- Meet our Jon Doe here. ID remains unknown. No cell phone, no wallet, no nothing. Arrived last night. Autopsy revealed death by stabbing, probably mugger attack, considering he was found lying in an alley behind the parking space of Bordeaux.

- The posh strip club all those rich asses go to?

- Do you know any other places around here with that name?

- ...

- So I figured. It seems like our poor guy here went to have some fun and steal hours away from his wife. Later, as he was getting out to find his car, some swell fellow jumped on him, things got a bit out of hand and our victim ended up with a beautiful scar collection in his chest and abdomen. Sloppy job, if you want my opinion. Look at those multiple hits, too shallow to end him quick. He suffered in vain, although our culprit could have hit the right spot and get the job done with the less pain and blood possible.

- If I had to choose, I'd rather spend the night with that wife, no matter how ugly, whiny or bitch she was.

- Me too my friend, me too. 

- So, what are we doing with him?

- He is cleaned up, stitched up and ready for the "lost and found". Help me move him.

- Are you coming over for the game tonight?

- No, man. Laura's having her parents for dinner tonight. I can't get away.

- Pff! That's why I'm never getting married Rick. No need to have people I don't like sit at my table because their daughter is sleeping on my bed.

- Aaaw! You are so romantic, Jim. Enjoy that while you're still young. And come on, let's put him in his new bedroom and get out, shift ends in 5'.

Another metallic door opens. A long tray is pulled out, the bag is placed there, the tray is pushed back in, door closes and it gets dark again.

Dead? Stabbed? Mugged? O-oh! I'm fucked up. What am I going to tell Lucy now? And Bordeaux? I was there last night? That's why I still have this taste of lipstick in my mouth? For a moment I thought some pervert had kidnapped me and dressed me up like a woman.

Pfff, Jeez! Dead! Hey John, you're dead. How does it feel now, you asshole? Dead? Dead! I had so many appointments today. I'm sure the whole company will have been looking for me. And they're all worried about me... and they are praying nothing bad happened to me. And they spent the whole day looking at the door and waiting for me to come, but I never came. And then they thought I went on another surprise fuck-trips, that I pretend to be sudden, business meetings and I'll be back in a couple of days like I always do... only I won't this time.

I wonder how much that new secretary, Sandra, is worried. She has a nice ass. Too bad I 'll never have the chance to grab it now... because I'm dead. Can you believe it?

And if I'm dead, why am I still here? Aren't I supposed to go to Heaven? I mean, I cheated and stole and lied a bit, but... I am a good person. I send those donation checks every Christmas and get drunk at those charity events almost every month.

I should have been in Heaven now... at least at the doorstep... mat... doghouse? I'm fine with that! I can live in the doghouse outside Heaven. Just don't keep me here. It's too confined. And cold. And I don't mind the darkness, but some scented candles would have made it so much cozier in here. Just saying...

Nothing but silence.

Fine! I'll shut up now! And stay in the "lost and found" drawer of mine! "Lost and found"? Once Lucy discovers I'm here I'll tell you what is "lost and found".

And is this how eternity will be like from now on? I'm staying here for ever?

Relax. Relax John! This is just another complication. You've dealt with enough of those so far. What makes it any different now? The fact that you're zipped up in a plastic bag and put into a freezer? 

You are still a genius, you'll figure something out. 

But for the time being, relax and try to get some sleep... if corpses can sleep of course.

To be continued...


*Original story by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018

I hope you enjoyed my new attempt to write something longer than a vignette. I honestly don't know how many episodes this one is going to take, at a rough guess 3-4 more are definitely coming. If you are into black humor and sarcasm, I'd appreciate your comments and feedback.

PS: If you liked that story, perhaps you could pay a visit to @patschwork's blog (an artist with the most romantically, morbid paintings I have seen).

 

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people! 


Sort:  

Oh, that's pretty scary I have to admit! Afterlife sounds cool, but definitely not this way! I'll be waiting for the next episode and hope the guy was just dreaming! :p

It is. Imagine being trapped, unable to move, talk, even blink... Just trapped in your body, but your mind is still there...

I hope you'll like the next episodes too :)

That's a novel vision of hell you got there, if he stays like that, trapped alive inside a dead body!

Reminds me of the Johnny Got His Gun monologue. I mean the movie (haven't read the book), the way he talked to himself like that. And name's John too!

I haven't decided on the end yet and I don't know if he should stay trapped, move on to another place, wake up from a bad dream or... Various ideas are going round my head...

Jihny Got His Gun? I think I should google this one.

Thanks for giving it a read, I am always anxious when I publish stories and need that feedback! :)

And I just noticed that for some reason I pasted a sentence at the wrong place, still trying to get used to that new touchpad. I edited it

I didn't read it before it was edited so you're fine.

I think having him wake up from a dream would be too cliche. A more sci fi ending would be more appropriate I think, since that's the feeling I get from this story for some reason.

If you enjoy oldish movies, definitely give Johnny Got His Gun a watch. The book is supposed to be great as well, a classic by many accounts. I really like the message of the movie. Very novel way to make an anti-war movie/book.

Actually I wasn't going to wake him, perhaps have him find out the truth like another Michael Douglas in The Game... Not sure I want him to be alive. I tend towards him being really dead ;)

I'll put Johny Got His Gun on my movie list then!! :)

Creepy! Especially the "The fact that you're zipped up in a plastic bag and put into a freezer? "
I like it!! I like your writing style!
I'm waiting for the next one!

Thank you @cryptomaniacsgr!! That's the feeling I want to give you, creepy and raw :)

Dead? Stabbed? Mugged? O-oh! I'm fucked up. What am I going to tell Lucy now? And Bordeaux? I was there last night? That's why I still have this taste of lipstick in my mouth? For a moment I thought some pervert had kidnapped me and dressed me up like a woman.

I love this paragraph, wonderfully written! There's so much creativity in it and it shows you'd do well as a fiction writer. I think I might consider using somethings here next time I want to write a fiction.

Nice words and arrangement, ma'am

I want it to be cynic as hell, you'll see why as the story develops.

Thank you so much for the feedback @pearlumie! :)

Oh what a nice surprise, thank you so much ♥

I love your story. Waking up and realizing there's just nothing after having died...is what I wish for all the religious fanatics who kill other people because of their own imagination of the afterlife :P

Your style matches the atmosphere I think, it would be a shame not to mention it :)

As for those fanatics, it takes a lot of time and education to change that.

Thank you so much for reading @patschwork! :D

It seems like our poor guy here went to have some fun and steal hours away from his wife, getting out to find his car, some good guy hit on him, things got a bit out of hand and our victim ended up with a beautiful scar collection in his chest and abdomen.

Sounds like a warning. Are you trying to intimidate men? :)

No, I just stated how tragic it was. He went out for some fun and ended up dead...

I joked a little.

You have an engaging letter. I'm waiting for the continuation.

Thank you!! I hope to live up to the intro's expectations :)

Awesome, looking forward to the rest!

Some questions for you and potential edits...

What do you mean here:

fat money asses

some good guy hit on him

Heeeey!

fat money asses

I was trying to find a word for λεφτάδες

some good guy hit on him

ένα "καλόπαιδο" του την έπεσε

And I noticed that a sentence was pasted in the wrong place over something else I had written. Just fixed it!

Thanks a lot for the feedback! :)

Kalopaido... intanai tone?

Scum με πιο κομψό τρόπο, ειρωνικά το λέμε, αλλά κυρίως για εγκληματίες.

Katalaba.... kai otan les tou tin epese.... einai poustis k kalopaido??? Xaxa ... hit on him means like flirting

Αααα, οχι το εννοουσα με την εννοια "ωχ μαλακα μας την πεσανε, μας την ειχανε στημενη"
του επιτεθηκε ηθελα να πω, καταλαβες; Να το αλλαξω δηλαδή;

To katalaba. So I think maybe this is the edit:

fat money asses

rich [fat] bastards

some good guy hit on him

some other swell fellow decided to jump him

(To “swell fellow” to bazw gia na metafraseis to “kalopaido” k na einai ironiko - alios mporeis na grapseis “lowlife” me kiriolektiki enia)

Swell fellow! It's exactly the meaning I wanted!

Όσο για το πρώτο είμαι σίγουρη πως είναι και κάποια άλλη φράση που ήθελα να βάλω αλλά μου διαφεύγει. Έσπαγα το κεφάλι μου να τη θυμηθώ κι όταν το έγραφα, αλλά δεν μπορούσα... Δεν πειράζει, θα πάρω τη βοήθεια του κοινού! :D

ΕΥΧΑΡΙΣΤΩ ΠΟΛΥ!!

If I had to choose, I'd rather spend the night with that wife, no matter how ugly, whiny or bitch she was

Maybe because it's not within our powers as humans to predict what could happen next with our actions.
And now, there's no room for regrets; so sad.

Nice piece ma'am. I salute your creative acumen

Sad it is. Looking back, after the irreversible has happened it's too late to change things.

Thank you for the encouragement @samminator! :D

"To be continued"!!! Yay!!

Hehe! Just hope I manage to put all those pictures in my mind into the right words...

Can't wait to get to the end of this story. Wait a bit, Is it that his spirit is still trapped to his body? Is that Coma?.. On a second thought, don't worry, let me be in the dark for now, I will find out by myself before this series ends. Hope you are releasing the next episode pretty soon @ruth-girl?

It could be coma had he not bled to death :P
We'll see, we'll see.
I hope to get a part out every week. This will depend on the new job I might be taking in the next couple of days.
Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58