WRITING CONTEST: Submission Window Opens Today!

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

SUBMISSION WINDOW OPENS TODAY!

First place winner will receive $15 SBD. Second place winner gets $10 SBD. Third place takes home $5 SBD. $30 SBD in all, courtesy of @originalworks.

On Wednesday, I made a "heads-up" post giving people some lead time on their entries since the submission window in this contest is so short--deadline is midnight, 10/15. Today we get down to business!

TO ENTER THIS CONTEST, PLEASE PLACE A LINK TO YOUR SUBMISSION IN THE COMMENTS OF THIS POST. I'LL DO MY BEST TO ACKNOWLEDGE THEM ALL.

CONTEST PROMPT

Write a 500-word story about a character whose flaws make them a less-than-ideal protagonist, yet they go on to achieve some form of greatness despite being “written off” by everyone who knows them. This is a complex theme, and word count is minimal, so this is quite a challenge. I will be looking for someone who can bring this theme across effectively and efficiently.





TIPS FROM THE JUDGE

I will be the only judge in this contest. And I’m tough. Be forewarned. If you lose me in the opening lines of your submission, I won’t keep reading. In this regard, I have much in common with J.A. Konrath. Read his article HERE about how not to start a story.

In fact, I encourage you to read many of the articles on writing posted at the Writers’ Block website. They can be found HERE. And do yourself a favor. Submit your story to the Fiction Workshop at The Writers’ Block. Let our editors improve your chances of winning. Learn how to find us HERE.

Correct grammar, spelling, and syntax matter to me. The mechanics of the writing matters to me. The execution matters to me. All of these things will factor in the judging, as well as how closely your story fits the prompt. It is also important that you submit an actual story, not an essay or an anecdote. A proper story has a clear beginning, middle, and end. There is a definable arc. Entertain me! Surprise me! If you do, you might just win this contest.

Sort:  

Hmmm... I might take part though I don't have idea to start with (this prompt is good though, I have ideas but not good ones).

This part made me shudder:

And I’m tough. Be forewarned. If you lose me in the opening lines of your submission, I won’t keep reading.

This cruel mercy is something I love in a judge... I hope I can find time to make something good....

Oh.. the deadline is...? (you should post the deadline by the date... and by the hour if possible)

Midnight Sunday night. That's in the original post, but I need to add it here, too. Thank you!

Haha!

I will be the only judge in this contest. And I’m tough. Be forewarned. If you lose me in the opening lines of your submission, I won’t keep reading.

Babe you're hardcore! 😉

I'm'on see what I c'n do... if I can.

Looking forward to it! :-)

oops - put my entry below.

And the deadline to submit is midnight on the 15th?

Yep! :-) (Hint: I won't check the entries until Monday. LOL)

@rhondak,
Thanks for the contest! I love contests and have a couple going myself. I have just started the Write It In Steem Contest. And I have the the Lymmerik's Limerick Contest going on too, if you'd Like to enter.

Here is my entry into your contest!
Thanks again
@ Lymmerik


Silent Laughter

https://steemit.com/contest/@lymmerik/silent-laughter-my-originalworks-writing-contest-entry

I'm so glad to see an entry from you, @lymmerik! :-)

@rhondak,
My pleasure! I love these little short story contests! One of these days I'll have enough of them to compile into a short story book!
@Lymmerik

Definitely. I want to participate in this contest. I love writing competitions. I will also join your Writers' Block on Discord.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @unprovoked
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rhondak to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I have to particilate in this contest. Writing is the best in life because it help to show ur level of grammar. @know one is perfect,readers are leaders

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45