Silent Laughter - My @OriginalWorks Writing Contest Entry

in #contest7 years ago

Silent Laughter

By: @Lymmerik



Arthur Bayliss hit the stage snickering as he was introduced that night at the Comedy Spotlight; a hole in the wall bar on my side of town. There was immediate laughter from the audience as he stumbled his way up to the microphone. He looked out at the hundred or so of us in the crowd, raised his hand...and froze.

Arthur was the funniest man I have ever known. I had coaxed him into doing stand-up that night. He was nervously anxious, but I didn't think he would freeze up on stage.

"Boo, Boo..." Heckled the crowd.

0ed2dcc048bb8e891b31f-events_cover.jpg

Image Source

Arthur turned and disappeared behind the blood red curtain. I thought that he'd join us for a drink and laugh off his embarrassment. The next morning, I called him to bandage his pride. His phone...disconnected. I called again and again, to no avail. I called our friend Michael to go downstairs to check on him. His apartment, abandoned. I never saw him after that incident, until years later.

What ever happened to Arthur Bayliss?

As time marched on, I called his phone, hoping that he had just not paid the bill; I visited his apartment...nothing. One day Michael called me. He was frantic for me to come over. Arthur's things were at the curb. He was nowhere to be found.

I was hurt, insulted, and sad that my friend had just vanished without a trace. He never called to let us know he was safe. I checked the hospitals, jails, city parks, everywhere. After a few months, I wrote him off as an inconsiderate loser.

Michael and I slowly forgot about Arthur. His name came up fewer and fewer times in our conversations. Eventually he became a ghost.



6 Years Later...

Michael invited me to go on a cruise with him on The Caribbean Voyager Cruise Lines for a seven day, six night adventure. We went to the tanning salon religiously for three months bronzing ourselves. I had never been on a boat, let alone a ship!

Finally sailing day came. We boarded ship, found our cabins, unpacked, and went topside to wave at the losers wishing us bon voyage. Once we had gotten underway, we went on a tour of the ship so that we'd not get lost at sea!

Our first four days and nights afloat, we had done everything imaginable; salsa dancing lessons, crafts, eating, drinking, laughing and nursing a hangover or two. The days were filled fun and playing Marco Polo in the pool. The nights were spent on deck watching the stars and snoozing in lounge chairs with gentle trade winds wafting through our hair.

By the last night of our cruise, exhaustion had set in, but damn-it, we paid for the full ride. Dinner was wonderful, a buffet of Thai food.

With our bellies full, we started back to the cabin to shower and change for the evening. In the corridor, I saw this sign advertising that night's event in the Voyager Lounge.

conference-room-sign1.png

Image Source

Thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings!

@Lymmerik


@OriginalWorks

Lymmerik Fish Logo2 copy.png

Steemit Upvote1.gif

Sort:  


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

@steemitrobot,
Thanks for the resteem, I'll put you in my list,
@Lymmerik

Nice job! I really like the way you told the story from the POV of the one doing the writing off.

Hey @chrisroberts!
Thanks you! I have a twisted mind and this stuff just flows out of me for some reason! I hope to compile all my shorts here on Steemit into an iBooks Author short story book and put it on ibooks and sell it!
Thanks for the nice compliment!
@Lymmerik

@chrisroberts,
Are you entering my writing contest Write It In Steem?
I would love to see more of your work too!
@Lymmerik

Thanks for linking to it, now I've seen the pic. I'll try to get something together!

awesome! no rush, there is still plenty of time, but check out the count down timer in the post just in case!
@Lymmerik

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 8.93 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @lymmerik. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

@bellyrub,
Thanks for your imput! Much appreciated!
@Lymmerik

This post has received a 4.59 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lymmerik. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations @lymmerik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44