Happy Grammar Day -- March Forth!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

march4th.png

National Grammar Day is Today

Today is indeed March 4th or as Mignon Fogarty says in her tribute to grammar "March Forth." You can watch the March Forth video here:

National Grammar Day was started by Martha Brockenbrough, in 2008 so this is the 10-year anniversary of National Grammar Day! Martha is the founder of the Society for the Promotion of Good Grammar.

Snappy Song / Good Grammar

This snappy song emphasizes good grammar and parts of speech. Any word nerd worth their salt can appreciate a day dedicated to good grammar.

As I read once, to celebrate National Grammar Day we should eat beans because they're good for the colon.

Grammar Quiz

If you'd like to take a grammar quiz and see how you do, here you go! Let us know in the comments please!

Grammar quizes galore!

Examples of Poor Grammar and Punctuation

Word nerds the world over have a day to point out poor grammar and punctuation. Today!

Here are a few of the mistakes in grammar, etc., that I love to hate:

  • Making plurals possessive. (Example: All of the RSVP's came in the mail today. NO! RSVPs is plural, not possessive. NO APOSTROPHE NEEDED!)

  • Using seen when you mean saw. (Example: I seen her coming a mile away. No, You saw her coming a mile away.)

  • Using the entirely wrong word. (Example: Mary: Thank you for helping out today. Bill: Your welcome. NO, H#&@ NO, Bill! It's you're welcome.)

Are You a Grammar Nerd?

I am!

More of My Posts

Daily Contests on Steemit -- My Favorite So Far
A Grammar Term Walked into a Bar
Movies and Books: Arsenic and Old Lace

Sort:  

I can be a grammar nerd, oh yes. :-) In fact I made an error in my first post here on Steemit and I have not yet edited and corrected it!

When I was a schoolboy, I used to walk past a Dentist's Surgery on my way in to school. In the car park was a sign. The sign read 'Dentists Patient's Car Park'. I walked by it for years grinding my teeth at it. Only one patient for all of the dentists, and an entire car park to themselves!

I walked on by... until the day I snapped and scratched off the offending apostrophe. Then I added an apostrophe in the correct place. Or so I thought. It dawned on me then that I didn't know if there was only one, or more than one dentist working out of this surgery.

I didn't feel confident about walking in and asking for clarification about the sign that I had just willingly defaced. So I left it and went into school.

At the end of the school day I walked by and saw that someone had scratched out the word 'dentist' entirely. The sign now just said 'Patients' Car Park'.

That was not the end though.

A week later, somebody else had a go at the sign. They were obviously baffled by the apostrophe. So they had removed it and the 's'. The sign now read 'Patient Car Park'.

We left it at that. And every day we used to smile as we went by such a virtuous car park.

So yes, I have always been a grammar nerd.

That is fabulous! You started something!! And it sounds like that apostrophe was bugging others too, so that's a good thing!

And yes, I make errors all the time myself, but I always seem to see them after I hit publish or post!

Greetings @peggyhazelwood! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed as part of Shareables' campaign. Enjoy your free resteem!

@Shareables, we resteem anything we find shareable. That means good quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting our campaign in Steemit. For more information about our campaign, click here!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Thanks so much, @shareables! I am honored!! Going to upvote your comment now. Woo hoo!

As our way of showing appreciation and support to bloggers who mend their minds and words to create beautiful contents everyday, we came up with our campaign.

We'll pick in random good quality contents from our followers EVERYDAY and resteem them for FREE. To put it simply, we resteem in exchange of follows.

We would like every hardworking bloggers get noticed. It doesn't matter if you're a newbie or whether you've been a member for months or years. What matters is what you create. And that is harnessing your potential. Everybody has.

We all know that this vision has a long way to go but we have you, our followers to help us build the foundation! More followers means more chance of getting noticed. So go on, do what you do. You have us at your back. Cheers!

For more information about our campaign, click here!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Haha. I may be a grammar nerd but not as big a nerd as you are (tee hee) because I am unsure of some of my dangling participles and clause placements.

I read a mystery which may have been in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine about a person who went around and painted over misplaced apostrophes. It was quite satisfying to read.

I sometimes face a dilemma because I need to buy something but the sign in the store window offers banana's for sale. Banana's what? It's the apostrophes that do me in.

I mean, how difficult it is to write you're rather than your?

Exactly! If I had a nickel for all of the extra (UNNECESSARY) apostrophes used out there... And I've actually become lax about a lot of grammar rules (shame on me!). You do fine. Just fine!

LOLOL!

I had NO idea that there was such a thing as a National Grammar Day! How cool!!!

I am TOTALLY a grammar nerd, @peggyhazelwood! My family members call me the grammar police, and it is true! I will take that and most other names and titles anyone calls me on this subject!

And THANK YOU for that grammar quiz site. I have bookmarked it with my homeschool bookmarks and will come back. I didn't actually do any, because I was so tempted by them all, and I didn't want to fall into that rabbit hole for fear I might not make it out for hours, lol.

I also just read your Grammar Term Walked into a Bar post. That was so funny I shared it on Facebook for all my grammar-loving friends! :-D

@sasukhram, thank you! And I'm glad you enjoyed the Grammar Term ... Bar. I absolutely loved that! I think using the grammar quizzes for homeschooling is a great idea!

I know who to hire to check my grammar on my posts!

Peggy,

I too had no idea there was a day to celebrate good grammar. Thank you!

Bill: Your welcome. NO, H#&@ NO, Bill! It's you're welcome.

That your/you're mistake is common and the one I notice the most.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43