You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss

in #writing7 years ago

Great post. I gotta say the end had me thinking though.

"At the heart of every being is loss."

That's a nice quote and definitely deep. Reminds me of the Buddhist concept that life is suffering: which really makes me think. Definitely up-voted.

Sort:  

Thank you, I appreciate the comment. This particular one was a bit deeper, or perhaps darker than usual. Although my mind does go to these place. I am intrigued, and fascinated by Buddhist culture, or at least their teachings. Perhaps more so from a Zen perspective. They have some good tools for helping explore and understand these inner realms.

They do. There's a quote that actually reminds me of just that...I think it's from Dalai Lama from a quick google search.

“Man surprised me most about humanity. Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money. Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health. And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.”

That's a really good quote. I think I may have read it before, but it really impinged that time. Sometimes it just needs the right context. May have to file that away for another day - it could come in handy. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51