You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss

in #writing7 years ago

You continue to impress with this spectacular series, mate! All those questions ... I don't know why, but it gave a sense that they were existential questions. Maybe it's because of how you framed them, or the tone you used when asking them. Whatever it is, it was all effectively narrated.

Broadchurch is a good choice, though it wasn't my first thought when I was reading your post. Have you gotten the chance to watch Fargo? The TV series, I mean. The movie's good, too, but the TV series is breathtaking. The soundtrack really fit well with the scenes, and the characters are as vivid as they come.

Sort:  

This one did a get a bit existential. A lot of looking within, and a lot of questioning, trying to understand internal motivation, as it relates to what works or doesn't with stories and the music that accompanies them. Heavy, but hopefully not too much. Ideally I was wanting to focus on the power of music to take us places. Just like words do also.

I fell for the series Broadchurch instantly. Really got hooked on the compelling drama of it. I do like British television. I haven't watched the series Fargo. I remember watching the movie, that was a few years back. If you recommend the series then I will definitely keep an eye out for it.

I agree, music has influenced my life a lot as well. It's amazing how different factors affect different aspects of our existence. They all serve a different purpose from one another.

The Fargo series borrows heavily from the movie, but its unique visual style sets it apart. Music is used heavily there, so I'm sure you'll appreciate that aspect. It's an anthology, so every season's a whole new story, but the writers pack in a lot of references/fun easter eggs so it's better to watch it sequentially.

From the perspective of creativity (which is what am mostly pursuing here) I think music is inherently important. Of course its value extends way out from just being for the creative minds. So yes, music is a wonderful avenue for exploring parts of our lives and the significance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35