Charlotte Morgan and The Number Investigators--Chapter 5 Dinner

in #writing7 years ago

  This is my next book.  

It is currently being copy edited, (so there will be the occasional typo in this version) and I am having a few illustrations done.

I am including the tag #steemiteducation because I wrote this thinking like a teacher.  The characters use math and describe their math thinking as they work through problems.  I am a former 1st, 3rd, and 5th grade teacher, so I used my experience and background from those years as I wrote this.

Click here for chapter 1, Chapter 2, Chapter 3, Chapter 4

Summary: The Number Investigators meet eat over at Charlotte's house.

 


The six of us chowed down on the spaghetti and meatballs.  My mom makes great spaghetti and meatballs.

We finished with dinner quickly.  “Okay, you all can go play in your room, no more tree house, its getting dark,” my mom said.

“Hey Tambourine, what’s 7 x 6?” asked my dad, as he stood up to clear off the table.

“Dad!” I was exasperated with him.

“Answer the question,” he replied.

“42!” shouted Marcus.

“That was my question!” I screamed.

“You should be faster,” replied Marcus.

“Okay what’s 9 x 7?” asked dad.

“63,” I replied.

“Go play,” he replied, and motioned to my room.

In my room we finished our math problem homework, “How many cookies are sold if there are 8 boxes and 6 cookies in each box?  Draw a picture to show how you found your answer.”

It was easy, 48. I didn’t need to draw a picture.

“Why do we need to draw a picture if we already know the answer?” Marcus complained.

We dump all of the Magnix onto my floor.

“Can I open a window? It’s hot in here,” Sally asked.  I said yes, and she opened the window.

Aaron looked out the window, “I didn’t realize there was a limb near your tree house that was so close to your window.  You could sneak out the window and go hide in your tree house.”

“Or someone could sneak into here and rob you!” Sally said.

I waved her off, “Whatever!”

We went back to playing.  A few minutes later, mom called us, “Okay it’s 6:45, time for everyone to head home.  You’re parents are expecting you at home by 7pm.”

“Okay mom!” I shouted back down stairs.  Everyone grabbed their stuff, Marcus grabbed his Magnix set, Aaron grabbed his chess pawns, and Sally picked up the rest of her bubble gum.  

“I should have 89 pieces left,” said Sally looking into her bag. 

“You’re not going to count them now are you?” I asked.

“No, silly, I’ll count them when I get home.”

And with that, our Investigator’s Meeting was over.


 Click here for my Amazon page.

Click here to join my newsletter for exclusive info and updates

Click here to visit my blog    

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39