Charlotte Morgan and the Great Big Math Problem--Chapter 2--Sally Hemingway and the Number Investigators

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

 This is my next book.  It is currently being copy edited, (so there will be the occasional typo in this version) and I am having a few illustrations done.

I am including the tag #steemiteducation because I wrote this thinking like a teacher.  The characters use math and describe their math thinking as they work through problems.  I am a former 1st, 3rd, and 5th grade teacher, so I used my experience and background from those years as I wrote this.

Click here for chapter 1

Summary:Charlotte introduces her best friend and the rest of the number investigators.

Me and Sally ran through my back door and into my kitchen. Sally Hemingway is my best friend.  We’ve been best friends since Kindergarten.

“Here Charlie!” I shouted, I threw my backpack into the corner, Charlie, my new puppy, was playing with a purple ball in the kitchen.  He picked up the ball and ran to me.  The ball was as big as his head.  My parents say Charlie is a brown Labrador.  I just think he is cute.

“Hi, Mrs. Morgan,” said Sally.  

“Hi, Sally,” said my mom.  “You two can have a snack before you go play.”  We both grabbed berry juice boxes and cheese sticks, and ran up to my room.

My room is pink, because it was my favorite color when I was in Kindergarten, and I haven’t changed it since.  

I pulled open the wrapping around my cheese stick.  We sat down the edge of my bed and ate our snacks.

“There are now less than 14 days until the Math Bee,” I said.

“Yes, less than 336 hours,” Sally replied.  She chewed a large piece of bubble gum, blew a gigantic bubble and let it pop.  It popped over her nose and cheeks, but she sucked it all back in.

“We should keep track,” I took a green marker and a stack of paper.  On one paper, I wrote in big letters Days Until the Math Bee.  On the other sheets of papers I wrote the numbers 1 to 14.  Each number on a different piece of paper.  “I am going to track how many days until the Math Bee.”  I taped the paper with Days Until the Turing Math Bee onto my wall and the paper with the number 14 underneath it.  I put the numbers 1 to 13 on the table next to my bed.

Sally and I are a part of a club, the Numbers Investigators. We started the Number Investigators in the first grade.  Our teacher, Ms. Whitlow, started math lessons by going, “We are going to investigate numbers now!”  We loved it so much, we walked around recess shouting “We’re going to investigate numbers!”  

We counted the number of rungs on the monkey bars-twelve, the number of steps to the slide-eight, and how many seconds it takes to run the track. Way too many to count.

My door opened, and Charlie ran into my room.  He was chewing one of my dad’s blue socks.

“Charlie!”  My mom yelled from downstairs.  Her feet pounded the stairs as she ran up the seventeen steps.  She burst into my room.  “Is Charlie here?”

I took the sock out of his mouth and handed it to my mom.  It was soggy.

“Great!  Now I have to wash it again,”  my mom complained as took the sock.  “You girls take him for a walk or play fetch with him in the back yard!”  

“Come on Charlie, let’s go play,” I picked him up, and we took my crazy-sock-eating-puppy outside.


Click here for my Amazon page.

Click here to join my newsletter for exclusive info and updates

Click here to visit my blog  


Sort:  

Wish I had those books back when I was a kid.

numbers in math are incredibe, its the master of science.

the math base story was too good,,,,,,,,actually it just wash my brain ......i have no word to say.........i always afraid math.............

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49