Charlotte Morgan and The Great Big Math Problem--Chapter 3 The Investigators Group

in #writing7 years ago

 This is my next book.  

It is currently being copy edited, (so there will be the occasional typo in this version) and I am having a few illustrations done.

I am including the tag #steemiteducation because I wrote this thinking like a teacher.  

The characters use math and describe their math thinking as they work through problems.  I am a former 1st, 3rd, and 5th grade teacher, so I used my experience and background from those years as I wrote this.

Click here for chapter 1, Chapter 2

Summary:Charlotte introduces the rest of the number investigators. 

Outside Charlie was on his yellow leash.  He did his best to carry his purple ball.

“Here boy!” Sally patted her knees.  Charlie dropped his ball and ran to Sally.

“Is that your new puppy?” said a voice from the sidewalk.  

“Yeah, it is Marcus,” I replied.  “You want to come and play with him?”

Marcus Jones, lives three houses down.  He is also in our class and the Number Investigators.  We let him in our Numbers Investigator Club when he became the second grade classes representative for the Math Bee, last year.  Marcus moved to our school last year, he parents are in the Air Force, so he moves a lot.

“Sure,” Marcus rode his bike into the yard, and he let his bike drop to the ground.

Marcus squatted down, “Here boy!”  Charlie ran toward Marcus.  Charlie’s big ears flopped as he ran.  “Are you two excited about the Math Bee?”  Marcus asked.

“I wish there was a way to do the Math Bee without standing in front of the whole class,” I said.

Sally popped her gum, “Why are you nervous?  You’re good at math.”

Marcus pointed his finger at Sally, “Exactly!  You shouldn’t be nervous about being in front of the class.  You should be nervous about losing to me!”  Marcus grinned as he pointed at himself.

Sally popped another bubble, “You know, you could both lose to me.” She said matter-of-factly,

“What are you guys up to?” said a second voice from the street.

It was Aaron Chu, he is the last member of our Investigator’s Club. He was dressed for his baseball practice  He is good at math, but he also good at sports, with a specialty at remembering sports stats.

“We’re playing with Charlie, my new puppy,” I replied.

Aaron walked over, “Hey Charlie!”  He patted Charlie on his head.  “Can I come over after practice?” Aaron asked,

“Sure, we can hang out in the tree house,” I pointed to the tree house that my built in the humongous oak tree in the middle of my backyard. 

My dad built it when I was four, and it is where we have a lot of our Number Investigator meetings.  It is the very best tree house ever.


 Click here for my Amazon page.

Click here to join my newsletter for exclusive info and updates

Click here to visit my blog   


Sort:  

A nice chapter :)
I am looking forward to the next chapter

great work @mctiller very intreseting

you have compelet the chapter 3. wait for chapter 4. this is a nice book

good book

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39