Charlotte Morgan and the Great Big Math Problem--Chapter 1--Friday

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

This is my next book.  It is currently being copy edited, (so there will be the occasional typo in this version) and I am having a few illustrations done.

I am including the tag #steemiteducation because I wrote this thinking like a teacher.  

The characters use math and describe their math thinking as they work through problems.  I am a former 1st, 3rd, and 5th grade teacher, so I used my experience and background from those years as I wrote this.

Summary:

Charlotte Morgan is a third grader who likes numbers, and she is in a club called The Number Investigators.



My name is Charlotte, and I have a great big problem.  You see in two weeks, or 14 days, or 336 hours or 20,160 seconds is our big Turing Elementary School Math Bee.  A math bee is like a spelling bee only with math problems.  

Why is this a problem you ask?  This is a problem because I don’t like getting up in front of the class.  And if I do good in front of the class, then I have to go in front of the whole big school.  And most of the time I get the best math grade in my class.  There are twenty-two other students in my class, which means there will forty-four eyes looking at me.  I forgot, forty-six eyes, Mrs. King, my teacher, will be looking at me too!

And also, did I mention my dad is a math teacher?  That’s a lot of pressure.  He will be very disappointed in me if I don’t do well.

Parent’s Notes went home last week about the math bee, and my dad got really excited.  He teaches algebra and calculations at Middlebury High School, at least, I think it is called calculations.  Anyway, dad, or Mr. Morgan, as his students call him, has started quizzing me constantly throughout the day.  He’ll say, “Okay, Tambourine, what is 4 times 3.”  And I reply “12.”  It is getting annoying.

He calls me Tambourine because when I was little, like two or three, I would walk around the house shaking and banging a tambourine.  I don’t do that anymore, but the name stuck.  

My mom calls me Charlotte, and Charlotte Morgan when I am in trouble.

I go to Turning Elementary School, and I am in the third grade  As I already said Mrs. King is my teacher.  She tells me I talk a lot.  

But if it wasn’t for me she wouldn’t remember that she left her pencil behind her ear.  That poor pencil would just stay there all day—poor pencil.

Today is Friday, and school is about to start.  That means there are 14 days until the Turing Elementary School Math Bee.  That’s 336 hours.



Click here for my Amazon page.

Click here to join my newsletter for exclusive info and updates

Click here to visit my blog 

Sort:  

I have included your story in a new curation post called The Library.

I'm looking forward to reading more of your stories.

That's awesome. Thank you so much.

I love this and I love Charlotte! I'm following you now so that I can read further stories of Charlotte :)

I'm relatively knew to writing children's fiction, so it's nice to see another children's fiction author here on Steem. Congrats on getting published!!

Awesome story! And I love the cover, so animated to attract the attention of kids, your readers!

Excellant photo :)

A wonderful story from school life and this once again emphasizes the child's thinking. Thank you @mctiller

Excellent chapterbook , very nice post thanks for sharing

i like math problem to solve, but it was boring in my high school life, later i discover the charm of math.

This story reminds me of that beautiful time. when we were children and there were no important concerns. the best time.

Agreed. I think about a simple childhood when I wrote this. I think I write about the childhood I would want for myself and my kid.

This looks amazing! This looks like something my daughter would love.

Cool. Thanks!

I think it looks very nice. The poster has been great. I think it will be great for the development of children. I congratulate you for a beautiful project. and wish you success. @mctiller
I wrote this comment earlier, but I could not send it to you because of the bandwith problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94