Charlotte Morgan and The Great Big Math Problem--Chapter 4--The Treehouse

in #writing6 years ago

 This is my next book.  

It is currently being copy edited, (so there will be the occasional typo in this version) and I am having a few illustrations done.

I am including the tag #steemiteducation because I wrote this thinking like a teacher.  The characters use math and describe their math thinking as they work through problems.  I am a former 1st, 3rd, and 5th grade teacher, so I used my experience and background from those years as I wrote this.

Click here for chapter 1, Chapter 2, Chapter 3

Summary: The Number Investigators meet in Charlotte's Tree House

Chapter 4 The Treehouse

“This meeting of the Numbers Investigators is now called to order,” I pounded on the floor of the tree house with a gavel.  A gavel is a big hammer looking thing that adults use to get people’s attentions.  My dad told me judges use them in courtrooms to get people’s attention. 

“You like that gavel don’t you?” said Aaron.

“Yes. I do.” I replied.  I pounded the floor with it two more times.

Sally, Marcus, and Aaron sat on the floor of the tree house.  We’ve been having our meetings in the tree house since the first grade.  The floor is eight feet by eight feet, that means it covers sixty-four feet.  That’s enough space for the four of us.  Anymore and it gets very crowded.  The walls are five and a half feet tall or sixty-six inches.  Dad has to bend down when he comes up to visit the tree house.  Dad made a ladder for the house, it has eight rungs.  The rungs are eighteen inches across or about thirty-six centimeters if you need to measure in the metric system.

“First order of business is to see who brought a math problem,” I said.

Everyone raised their hands with a piece of paper in their hands.  “I think we all had the same math problem for homework,” said Marcus.

“Yeah, we can all do our homework here.” I said.  “Second, who also brought items to count?”

All of us raised our hands. 

 “I brought 101 pieces of gum,” Sally says.  “Does anyone want a piece?”

“Yes,” we all replied.

Aaron grabbed one and started chomping on it.  He looked liked my puppy licking peanut butter from the roof of his mouth.  “I have 100 pawns from my chess boards,” said Aaron, he is also really good at chess.

“I brought my Magnix set,” Marcus slid the box across the floor.  The box was brightly covered with pictures of different colored spheres, sticks, and shapes.  All of them were magnetic, and you build things with them.  The box was covered with pictures of bridges, rockets, and cars that you could make with the pieces inside.

“Let’s play with that!” I said and put down the gavel.

“Yeah, I’m cool with that,” Aaron replied.

We put down our other items.  We always liked it when he brought the set. 

Marcus grabbed four long black rods.  He added three red triangles.  He added a few more pieces to make the cone, the top of the rocket.  “Look here is my rocket.  I have three right triangles here on for the fins.”

“You need some circles at the end for the exhaust,” Aaron grabbed some yellow circles and handed them to Marcus.

“Cool,” Marcus replied.  He added the circles, and made the sound of a rocket launching into space.

“Dinner!  We’re having spaghetti and meatballs,” my mom shouted from the back porch. “And all of your friends are invited to eat with us.” 

“Spaghetti and meatballs!  I am definitely staying,” said Aaron.

We grab the Magnix pieces we and shove them into the box.  We grabbed our stuff, and we climbed down and ran into the house ready for dinner.



Click here for my Amazon page.

Click here to join my newsletter for exclusive info and updates

Click here to visit my blog    

Sort:  

wonderful post great work thank you for sharing

Oh dear this is really good stuff, thanks for the effort, im a teacher too and i can already sense the feeling of how this book will greatly impact our students, more grease to your elbow. Im resteeming this great work and checking out your blog immediately

Thanks!

I've read till the end of the story, my friend. You have a pretty good ability, you give math problems in a story, and people like you officially mathematics in your opinion: P
I think you should be a teacher and enter classes: P

I used to teach. I used that experience to help write the book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13