My Happiness, My Perfection

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


Growing up i had this unrealistic goal to be perfect, television programs and magazines didn't help much either .Worst still the trend kept changing , i and every girl i know was ready to go to the end of the earth and back to keep up ,remember i said unrealistic because that's what it was. The perfect image we have was all in our head no matter how much we wanted to be perfect we couldn't go to the end of the earth to attain it . I for one have no idea where the end of the earth is.

I use to see pictures of girls on social media that starve themselves to become stick thin, using unbearably tight girdles to have perfect body shape and it looked like pain and torture to me. I was too lazy to go do all the things that were deemed necessary to be perfect . I couldn't keep my make up intact for a whole day , i couldn't keep my hands away from my itching and painful braids , i couldn't starve myself, i couldn't refrain from scratching my itchy penciled brows , i couldn't suffocate my self with tight girdles without feeling like passing out, i couldn't keep up with the doctor's appointment to change my implants , i was too lazy to keep up . I was like "no! i can't do this, you all doing this are really strong" , i Wrennie Brown will not go through all that stress . If this unnecessary stress has to be my way of life before i can be socially accepted then i'll rather stay home . I avoided friends because i didn't want to be the clown of the group . I didn't talk much either because i didn't want to be noticed . i kept my ideas , emotions and thoughts to myself , i felt there wasn't any need to let anyone in since i wasn't perfect i didn't deserve to be friends with people .

Until i met marijuana, literally i would lie and avoid talking about marijuana with the bad stigma it gets most times but marijuana really did help. I started smoking and i started thinking . I began to understand many things one of them being that perfection cannot be attained . I understood that no one is really perfect or imperfect, short or tall, fat or slim, sexy or not sexy and that those are just adjectives created by people to make them feel good or bad about themselves or others . We are all just human and there is nothing ultimately special about any one or any kind of person . There is no perfect body as long as its working for you its fine . I told someone once show me a person with ten arms and twenty legs or someone with fifty eyes and that person is the most beautiful or most handsome person in the world.

My point is perfection doesn't exist . You are not the smartest person in the world there are people just like you everywhere on earth, you are not the healthiest person in the world or the person with the best body type or silkiest skin you are not in any way perfect or imperfect , you are just human that's all skin bones hair innards and intelligence all the same . If you were once walking to the end of the earth to achieve perfection and now you feel tired because perfection is pain and torture then by all means give up and embrace your natural human nature because i'm having so much fun holding my head high and voicing my opinions. I have come to understand that no one is better than me and i'm not better than anyone either. I have learnt to be comfortable in my skin, to be a happy human and my happiness is my perfection.

Sort:  

Congratulations @marsharatti! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @marsharatti! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37