"Coralflake" | Gallery: Motifs

in #art6 years ago

I've now realised that the under-the-sea theme holds so many beautiful possibilities!
 
The shapes strongly reminded me of corals in this one, so I set to work...
 
But all the native colour combinations I tried were all so very uniform, which often happens with some sets of formulae/parameters...
 
So some post-work was necessary, and I'm very happy with the results!



Coralflake

~~
Gallery: Motifs
Max. Print Size: 28" x 28"



“When Kleiner showed me the sky-line of New York I told him that man is like the coral insect — designed to build vast, beautiful, mineral things for the moon to delight in after he is dead.”

-- H.P. Lovecraft


I'm fascinated by the origins of things... Society, human life, life in general, the universe... And despite the obstinate, persistent objections from the orthodox religious, evolution is a fact and we all have our origin in the depths of the oceans. The deep blue was our first home.

Of course, the common ancestors that most life on earth share would have been a much simpler form of life that most of what we see as alive today. Even most bacterial life has evolved to become much more complex than those early days.

In this mandala, I wanted the shapes to be repetitive and simplistic, symolising those origins.

Once I had the shapes, which reminded me very much of coral, I then needed the colours... So I watched a few videos of under water scenes and screenshotted this off of youtube:


This is not my photo. It is a screenshot from this youtube video filmed in the waters of Raine Island

I then imported that into Mandelbulb 3D, the fractal program I use, and used it as a diffuse map to create more than a dozen image, all of them rendered at 7000 x 7000 pixels. (This took a very long time):

Next step was to layer them all in Photoshop and use varying opacities of eraser to bring the coral to life... I considered putting in little fractal fishies but decided against it... The focus here was on simplistic origins and fishies are too complex ;P:

Finally, as with most of my work, the details get quite lost because the original file is so big (7000x7000) so here are some details:

And another Mandala in the bag! ;P I'll be exploring under water themes more, for sure... Such depths of possibility!

Remember too that all my designs are for sale. See my site, Mandelsage.com, for details =) ... And I am open to doing commissions too! How about a mandala based on your personality? ;)




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
ULOG: Talking Into The Future - 002 - Job Change? | The Mandelsage Challenge 005 - Immortality and Sleep | "Springflake" - Gallery: Motifs
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All Images, Copyright @Mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Before using bidbots, consider that they are generally bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining this controversial topic is by Luke Stokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

The result of your work is spectacular. Because I do not know anything about this kind of digital art, I just say I'm impressed by the beauty.

Thank you very much @bluemoon ! .. I'm very happy to hear that. =)

With a great pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72