GK's Alternative to Writing Essays for Busy Steemians

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-89806.png

Hey Friends,

I wanted to write a short post to discuss some alternative types of content that you can post on Steemit. This is a resource for people that aren't writers This is not to discourage anyone from writing, with practice you can become a great writer.

4 Alternatives to writing long articles by @gktown

Podcasts

If you have a microphone, you can record audio based content in the form of Podcasts or Solocasts. Great for people who want to discuss topics, invite other steemians to collaborate and post something thats a little more personal.

Podcasts are accessible for your listeners and even leave their hands/eyes free to do other tasks while they tune in. Great for audiences that are busy. Provide some value with low investment, with Podcasts. A great example of a Steemit Podcast is the weekly cast, SteemTalk by @giftedgaia, @sykochica and @winstonwolfe. Check them out on Discord every Sunday!




Photo Blogs

Photo Blogging is alive and well on Steemit. Going out? Grab your camera and snap some nice photos that tell a story. Add some context and send it out. Its 1 part blog, 1 part gallery and 100% gorgeous when you do it correctly. I would challenge any photographers or people wanting to get better at photography to give photo blogging a go. Remember, by practicing something you get better! Go here for my example of Photo Blogging




Cover Videos

If you prefer to get involved by creating videos, and you have a voice that is at least better than mine not hardBe sure to follow the Open Mic crew too. They host really fun contests weekly. once you have your video upload it to youtube and add the link to your post.

1. Find a song you love
2. Pull up the lyrics
4. Start your camera
3. Play some music
5. Do your best

& Have Fun!




Live Streaming

If you are still looking for an engaging type of content, you can set up live streaming on your computer using OBS.
OBS allows you to merge multiple sources into one window and input your streaming password data from youtube.

Once you learn how to set it up, all you have to do is click the "Start Streaming" button and OBS, and youtube take it from there.

Check out this tutorial for more info on how to set up OBS.




Regardless of the type of content you settle on, I hope I helped by introducing new ideas to your repertoire.

Last Post | All Posts | Next Post
Follow @gktown

Sort:  

Livestreaming can be a little harder than you think. You must have an account with so many views on youtube to be able to livestream. Not saying it isnt a great option just has some flaws as i am figuring out right now. Lol. Otherwise great read and great ideas for people that cannot write. Keep up the work!

Hi @onlyoneman I never encountered that, perhaps I already had enough views on my account.... How many views do you need?

my brother @spbesner was looking into it and i believe you only need 10k views total on your youtube account before they will even consider your application to allow streams to be embedded elsewhere. other hand people could just go to your youtube channel and watch but we wanted people to be on steemit only kinda stream. we will get it figured out though. we are looking to do some fun things with gaming on steemit. hopefully have steemit it matches and be able to play against other steemit teams right here!

Ah I see, what I do is I invite people personally to the youtube chat room, then we discuss things as a small group. I definitely dont have 10,000 views, but once our accounts get popular enough we'll be able to embed too :) I'll edit your comment into the article so others know as well

Thanks Poetry, I think you follow a lot of this already, as you make your content work for you.

You're welcome. And thank you... I try. :)

Great suggestions @gktown! Commenting is also a great way to get your feet wet initially on Steemit as it helps you read blogs and articles more actively and builds more confidence before completing those first few blog posts. I'm actually trying to get into doing more photo blogs especially when I travel this year and more vlogs as well.

I have recently formed a Discord server for like minded Steemians who support the creation of a live video stream channel on Steemit - Live Steem!

Very cool @cerebralace and good point too. There is a lot more to do than just posting. A rule of thumb for me is every time I think to check my posts, I check 1-2 of my friends posts as well :)

Is there a link to your discord?

Sure, I wrote a post on our Steemit Live initiative a few days ago: https://steemit.com/steemit/@cerebralace/join-us-on-discord-and-let-s-create-steemit-live-together

The exact link to the Discord server is https://discord.gg/ERN69XV

All those things are bad for introverts like me :) well I could do a livestream as long as I had my V mask on haha! or maybe a podcast if I thought I was more interesting.. All bad things!!

I jumped the f--k in. I sang Macy Grey for Openmic. Managed to get a tenative 2nd place, but I realized I didnt film my video correctly. Regardless, it got me into youtubing, which I've been considering for a while but never had a reason. So now that I have a voice and fantastic followers, I've been much more inclined to hop on and connect that way. Definitely join us in the chat though! I'll message you before we start next time.

These are really great tips to have @gktown. I do not consider myself a great writer but I really love to express myself on various topics. Having a full time job in addition to being a mom, coming up with great and interesting topic to share here at steemit is challenging. Great help.. thanks

Thanks @arrliinn, expressing yourself in your own way is key. Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26