The Lake

in #writing7 years ago

You stood beside the lake, crestfallen, steel blue eyes weeping salty tears into the freshwater lake. This place was so beautiful in the summer. We had a perfect angle on the sun, right next to that old oak where the bank sloped down and we caught the fading light in all its fractal beauty. The day I drowned we had carved our initials in the sappy flesh of the tree. I could see you beyond the membranous skin of water as I felt a tug from the deep, felt a coldness greater than those ancient glaciers that forged the rift in this landscape. Time for me is different now. I only know of its passing because I see it in the features of your face, each time you return to flesh out the initials on the tree. I want to tell you not to mourn for me. I want to tell you that there is more to this universe than these physical shells we carry about us. But you will see that for yourself, in time. When you feel that tug in the cold, dark night, do not be afraid.


(c) Darren Hawbrook

I wrote this piece based on the picture prompt above. 





Sort:  

Great article! 👍

Beautiful image accompanied by beautiful words, make a combo worthy to appreciate and enjoy. Congratulations and Dracias for sharing Mr. @Darrenh
I appreciate your valuable time in visiting and commenting on my post many thanks

Congratulations @darrenh! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @darrenh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80