How Much Do You Love Me? New Constrained writing contest #10!

in #writing7 years ago

Constrained-how-much.png

The Challenge by @svashta: Write a story where every sentence is a question.


"Why did you leave me?”

“Don’t you realize I had no choice?”

“Didn't you know that I wouldn't be able to make it without you?"

"Why did you think you couldn't make it?"

"How could you ever have thought differently?"

"Did you not know how strong you were?"

"How did you not realize I was only strong because of you? HOW?"

"Why? What did you think would change once I was gone?"

"What did I think would happen? WHAT DID I THINK WOULD HAPPEN?”

“Yes, what did you think would happen? Why did you think you couldn’t go on without me?”

“Can’t you SEE why I thought that?”

“Can’t YOU see that you gave up too easily?”

“What are you going to do about it now?”

“What do you think I should do?”

“Don’t you want me here with you?”

“What else could I possibly want? Don’t you know I love you more than life itself?”

“Aren’t you the joker?”

“Why are you making this so hard for both of us? Don’t you know that you still have a choice?”

“If I have a choice, then why don’t you?”

“Don’t you realize that I’m already dead??? How can you not realize that it’s too late for me?”

“Why would you say that?”

“Why wouldn’t I?”

“What is wrong with you? Didn’t you JUST say that you loved me?”

“Don’t you know I do? Don’t you know that I want what’s best for you and not just what I want???”

“Can’t you see that I was willing to do anything to be with you? Can’t you see that I was willing to DIE to be with you?”

“Can’t YOU see that it was the wrong choice? Can’t you see that you need to go back?”

“Why would you even suggest that?”

“Don’t you know that I have to send you back, even though it’s killing me? Don’t you know that in your heart?”

“Why can’t I stay?”

“Why can’t you see that you have more to do on earth? Can you please just do this for me? Can you go back and take care of our children? Can you be strong… for me?”

“Can you please just hug me goodbye? Can you maybe give me some of your strength so that I can go on?”

“Don’t you know that I would do anything for you?”

“Can you feel that? Can you feel it pulling me back?”

“What? Where are you? Can you touch my hand? Can you come back for just a second?”

“Where are you? Can you hear me? Can you feel my love for you?”

“Can you feel my love for you? Do you know it’s forever?”

“Will you wait for me here until it’s my time?”

“Don’t you know I’ll be sitting here watching from above? Don’t you realize that I will wait for you for as long as it takes?

“Do you promise to love me… always?”

“Always? Is that all?”


This is my entry into the Constrained Writing Contest #10.

For the rules, click here and give it a try!





And this is a new series that I'm writing and posting daily! If you enjoy my writing, this is my first Non-short story that I'm posting here to steemit.
Chuck-Part1.png
Brief recap, if you're interested in my more 'normal' type of writing:
Chuck has been living a very dead end type of life, working in a derelict old, barely making it gas station in a failing small town when a priest and a tie dye wearing hippie come upon his gas station. They have a bag to bestow upon Chuck. A bag that they claim holds the power to fulfill his dreams and change his life.

Chuck, however, is more than a little disbelieving and wary of the whole idea…

Read The Beginning
Part 1: Chuck
Part 2: The Bag
Part 3: The Beginning
Part 4: The Accident

Sort:  

Do I understand this correctly and... he committed suicide? :o

Rather dark, yet splendidly written! Thank you for your entry! :D

I was going to add more details to clarify, but in the end, I thought it better to leave it to the reader to put their own spin on it. I was curious to see where people's minds took it.

When I was writing it, I was thinking that one half of the couple died by some sort of sudden means (accident/illness) and the second half of the couple gave up... either by no longer taking care of themselves/being reckless or by suicide attempt.

The conversation took place in sort of an 'in between' world where the soul of the first one was talking the spirit of the second into going back to his still living body to finish out their life the way it was meant to be.

I see! Interesting!
I thought one of them was still alive, because;

Can you go back and take care of our children?

As in, they found a way to communicate with the deceased, whatever that way may be, but were needed back in real life.

I definitely enjoy the idea of openness and allowing the reader to interpret it any way he wants! And seeing your explanation, my thoughts, and @dfrankle's comment... We sure had different views on it. Love it! :D

Yeah, it is interesting. I thought person #2 was probably in a coma or something, so they were kind of stuck between 'following the bright light' or going back to their body and working on living...

I like seeing the different thoughts on it!

Yeah! Exactly! Something like that was in my mind also! ^^

I sure am glad it's fiction though ;P

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by byn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Awesome job! Love that you did it as a dialogue :)

It's a sad thing that even two people who love each other can still talk past each other. Great work!

Thanks :) It was definitey a big challenge to write a story using only questions! It made it difficult, but I was curious to see what others took from it! Thanks for reading and commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67