My First Time Working Two Jobs Ever and more! - (MY-NICHE contest entry)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I've never had two official jobs before so when I did it last year boy was it an experience to remember. The jobs I did one after the other was being a seasonal BPO agent (night shift) and a real estate agent (day shift). (This is my not so official introduction here on Steemit.)

image.png
(Source)

In August of 2017 I was still working as a real estate agent. I did online marketing, flyering, booth manning and other things everyday. However since I have not sold anything at that point, and the allowance was very low from what I was usually getting on other jobs, I decided to have two jobs.

Being a property consultant (for amazing resort-type condo communities) is hard enough, add being a call center agent and voila! Good luck to having any good and quality sleep. Hahaha. dies

image.png
(Source)

I have been working in the BPO industry for several years before I decided to switch to real estate in Dec 2016 for a new challenge. The opportunity to earn commission on top of helping people acquire a new home or commercial unit is a welcome experience. The call center job was easy peasy at this point because I am used to it but the hardest part of having two jobs is getting enough sleep and scheduling!

Oh dear God, I almost didn't have any social life from having two jobs. I had to schedule everything and I couldn't move freely because of my time constraints. What, I won't be sleeping anymore? Hahaha. Good thing I don't have any kids! It got to the point where I was sleeping anywhere and everywhere I could get the chance to sleep.

On a bus and in jeepneys going home? I'll have my shut eye on the way thank you. Waiting in line at the bank? I'll put on my shades and sleep a bit. Traveling to work? I'll close my eyes to rest. The best part is sleeping in the BPO sleeping quarters. Hahaha. I was officially finally sleeping at my workplace. Wow. That's another first.

I slept at the office quarters because I won't have enough time to sleep and travel to and from my real estate work. After night shift if I had manning scheduled in the day, I would go sleep a few hours then go to man the property site or booth and such. Good thing the sites were all near where I worked night shift, just a few minutes away as opposed to where I live. It takes me an hour or more to get to the sites from where I live and it takes another hour or so too to get from my BPO workplace to our home.

image.png(Source)

And the reason I am thankful I could sleep there after a night shift is because they also have a shower room. Oh joy! It's the first call center I worked for that had a shower room, plus a rain style kind of shower head to boot! You know, that big enough square thingy that rains down on you as you take a bath. Who wouldn't like sleeping there after work from both jobs? Of course I also had to bring at least 2 sets of clothes to wear to work.

Anyway during this period, from August 2017 to the first week of January this year, I was still able to do things I didn't think I would. Imagine, I was able to enroll in a new meditation class! Do you think I was getting any sleep at this point? Hahahaha.

I don't do meditation regularly and won't say I am an expert on it but I was curious enough to try a South Korean meditation class for the first time. One day while I was going home after the night shift I saw a bright yellow flyer from a Korean store I usually pass by going to the bus stop home. So I went to where the class is held before going home because it was just within the area and after the intro class decided to sign up for a month because hey, I felt like I needed it.

Having two jobs, one being a stressful and pressure-filled selling job, makes one do such things. It did help me but having enough sleep was more important to me so after a month of doing it, I stopped. It is a time intensive/demanding meditation thus I had to give it up. It also didn't resonate well with me so I didn't feel any big loss over not continuing it.

Aside from that I also joined a Comic Con as a seller for the first time! Omg. Don't ask me if I got late to anywhere okay?

image.png(My pic inside Bayanihan Center during Komikon XIII)

I am a freelance artist so I join bazaars or sell artwork online or at art selling venues whenever I can. I have a degree in Fine Arts too. So there. My, this has become an introduceyourself post hasn't it? Now you know what else I do for a living. Haha.

Honestly I don't know how I survived having two jobs + freelance design work. I had to compromise a lot of things from both jobs and my social life just to be alert and "alive" while I was working. Oh and by the way, I don't drink coffee. All those months I only drank coffee once when I really really needed it.

I rarely drink softdrinks too. Lol.

If I had to do it all over again though, I probably won't. I'll just go back to do freelance designing with my real estate agent job for the meantime. Good thing I saw the My-Niche contest so I can share my story.

How about you? Ever had two jobs at the same time? Do share in the comments if you like.

XOXO,
@artgirl


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



All images are copyright of their respective owners except otherwise indicated as mine.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue



For more of my life experience posts still within the 7 day period since posting this, do check below:

I've Been Plagiarized! O_O

Honest People Don't Get Hired!

For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

I use to work like that when I was younger, school + work then later work + work , eventually stopped it and found it quite strange to have evenings where I could do what I wanted, so then I just worked late at a single job which can be just as taxing, burn out is a real thing. In the end you tend to find your sweet spot and now I do my day job, sideline work as I wish at night. Working like that from early although at easy come easy go style jobs still taught me that I am more than capable to do anything I might need to.

Now the problem is there is nothing I really want to do :)

Hahaha. Wow that's good if you did it early on. I've always wondered why when I was growing up I never thought of working as a student. Maybe because my mom never told me to work or maybe because I was the youngest child. We weren't rich or anything so working as a student would have been great. I dunno maybe it's only now that I appreciate the value of hard work.

And yeah right after that seasonal job, guess what I've been doing? Lol. I have more time to do random things I like. Plus there's this site. :D

And this site is like a job in itself. I understand not working as a student, even if it would have helped the household and there are two sides to it I think
1: Your parents had your best interest at heart and wanted you to fully experience your childhood, maybe they just figured you don't want to work and as good parents do that was fine with them.

2: depending on how one looks at it I was lucky enough to be taken away from my guardian at 16 , she had a big focus on go to school, get home to make dinner and go to bed, work was never part of that deal.

So when I tasted freedom I think the driving force is that you feel like you need to prove you can also do it if only for the sake of saying "This is my chocolate, and I bought it with my money, now go away little child"

fin.

Oh I see so that's why you worked at an early age. You know I was never one to even run away! My bro did that once. Haha. I never even thought of doing it even during bad times. Ah I guess I was happy enough growing up even if I didn't like where I was in my teen years.

Upvoted, really nice post about your experience.

Me too, I also have worked in the BPO type of job for a large portion of my life. It's tiring and killing, though the money is quick to come by.

Thanks. And yes, that's why I can't seem to get rid of it. sigh

This is why you should work in a more fun job, like as an explosives tester. You won't feel any worries.. for long. ;)

Ahahaha, I hate you. Hahahaha~

Good job, never give up...

Release the Kraken! You got a 0.97% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @penderis!

Hey thanks! I like Krakens. Only because I made a Kraken mural. Lol.

Wow! Two jobs at the same time! How did you cope? The stress must have been killing.

Reading your post, I knew you wouldn't be able to hold down both jobs for long. No one can manage that much level of stress for an extended period.

It must have been an experience though. Haha

Yeah, such an experience that I am not doing anything at all this month.

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Ok thanks. I suggest that you post this comment on my other post for newbies instead of here so other newbies who get to read it will know about it too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47