I've Been Plagiarized! O_O

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

I never thought I'd get plagiarized or copy/pasted here on Steemit. Maybe my post was valuable huh? They just copy/pasted my entire blog post from Bitlanders!

bit plag.jpg
(screencap of my Bitlanders account blog @artgirl)

Back when Bubblews was around there were a lot of plagiarizers too but those people could be easily flagged and reported for deletion. Here in Steemit I don't know if that's possible? Once an article is here it can never be deleted right? What to do then? Just flag the article? I flagged it and I will report it in #steemitabuse channel in Steemit.chat.

And then I read about someone getting plagiarized here as well by getting translated to a different language. Oh my. What do we do with plagiarizers here on Steemit?

Here is the link of the plagiarizer's post. Pls flag it.

And this is my article on Bitlanders as pictured above.

I wasn't even here 8 months ago and they actually had the gall to post it here. Good thing they didn't earn anything from it. Maybe just cents? Who knows.

What else should I do now?

Oh wait I think I shall report to @steemcleaners? I just filled in and submitted their online form. What else should I do?

@artgirl

Sort:  

Excellent work, I will follow you and I will be waiting to vote for you in all your publications. Follow me to make our votes reciprocal and achieve our goals together. SUCCESS FOR BOTH ...

What the heck?! That's a spammy comment! Pls read the Steemit FAQ and etiquette guide or you can get flagged by people around here.

I never considered that before about the not being able to delete posts. I really hope there is a way around that.

I am still waiting on the reply from my report... I don't think anyone can do anything about it. Not sure if they can get removed or banned from the site or whatever.

Even if a lot of people flag the post it will just get hidden I think.

Keep us posted on what happens!

Yes I will. :)

It's a shame that the post is so old. Fortunately, it doesn't look like they made anything off your work.

Yeah fortunately. I hope it can still be deleted.

It can't. The closest thing you can do to getting it removed is petition Google to block that URL from coming up in their search results.

Ah therein lies the Steemit problem then. That's the only con of this site I guess. We have no way to get protected from getting plagiarized/copy pasted old posts.

Sabi ko sayo kaya ko hindi binoto yun eh hindi naman maayos maglinis dami dami pa ring kalat at mismong ibang butanding nagkakalat :-/ hula ko yun yung mga violators din lang sa kabila hindi rin marunong makaintindi ng english kaya kahit basahin nila FAQ million times di pa rin nila maiintindihan :-D Nakakaawa rin sila at the same time nakakainis lalo kung blogger ka na sa adsense umaasa affected ang views mo ng mga yan. Hayaan mo na hindi naman tayo naka adsense kaso SEO ni bit ang affected nyan instead na views kay bit 100% naging share views kay steemit.

Ah yan pla ung kamo n janitor. Hahaha. D ko nmn binoto yan pero sila tga-linis e d go. May backlog sila 4 days. Whew.

Mga taga-ano d nagbabasa ng FAQ gnun? Sus kaya sila nade-delete s mga site eh. Tsk.

Oo dami nila taga doon natterminate/suspend sa bit kasi ganyan gawain at least dun click report lang or email cs with the link agad nila delete. Dito problema talaga pagdelete.

Ay nku. Nakuuuu. Dpat may option ma-delete old posts. Tsk.

Well, I would say: Congratulations for being plagiarized! That really means, that your posts have real value! 😀That being said, it is of course annoying, but you can't delete stuff from the blockchain. It's not a bug - it's a feature! 😉I guess flagging is the only way and over time, the community is handling these things...

Ahaha, I guess so because they copied it.
Yes, it's sad it can never be deleted... another member advised that I can report it to DMCA but that seems pretty serious stuff...

hey @artgirl. That's some bad news. The best way to handle this is to report it to SteemCleaners like what you did. It seems that this user is a repeat offender, all his/her recent photo posts are plagiarized. This author would likely get blacklisted.

Yeah, i reported that person after I wrote this. I don't know if they can do anything about them. I will check again in a few days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59417.60
ETH 2672.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44