Portfolio and Testimonials in WordPress Jetpack

in #wordpress6 years ago

Despite being a WordPress plugin developer, I realise that plugins can bog down the site, often times so badly that you get the white screen of death due to low server memory or resource. It's this reason that I'm partial to using Jetpack, even though it's an official WordPress plugin created by the awesome people of Automattic. I recently ran into an error using its XML Sitemap maker, and although they provided a patch for it, I was a little put off by the experience.

As I launched my new website and configured certain custom post types, I noticed that there were a couple of new options appearing in Settings > Writing.
Screen shot of my Writing settings

A little digging showed me that Jetpack has built-in custom post types for Portfolio and Testimonials content.

illustratr-portfolio-shortcode-example.jpg
(img src - Example of the portfolio shortcode in the Illustratr theme)

testimonial-shortcode2.png
(img src - Example of the testimonials)

Interesting... but not quite what I was looking for. Shortcodes usually means that I have little control over the layout, but that's premature of me to judge since I haven't tried it. Besides, it's risky to rely on a plugin instead of a theme to display your content, in case you need to import them to a different theme without the portfolio or testimonials support that Jetpack provides.

I'll pass for now.

Anyways, I still like Jetpack. There's still so many options in this plugin that I've yet to explore. I'm not too worried, though. I'm pretty sure I can build whatever it is I want to put on my website if I can't find the right plugin for it.

This is why it's great to learn to code your own website, folks. You just need a whole lot of patience, time and focus to learn them.

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/web/@webgrrrl/an-outside-in-look-into-webgrrrl-net

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by WebGrrrl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 1.16% upvote!
I was summoned by @webgrrrl. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65