Music Word of the Day: Taiko

in #wordoftheday6 years ago

Taiko is the generic Japanese word for drum,

sometimes spelled "daiko" when combined with another word. In Japan the word taiko simply refers to any drum, but outside of Japan it can refer to what the Japanese call wadaiko, which means “Japanese drums.” Traditional taiko drumming is believed to originate from the 6th century, and was used for anything from communication, military action, theatrical accompaniment, and religious ceremony to both festival and concert performances.

Kumi-daiko performance, characterized by an ensemble playing on different drums, was developed in 1951 through the work of Daihachi Oguchi.

Watch this incredible performance by the Senzoku Gakuen College of Music

Music Word of the Day

https://musicterms.artopium.com/t/Taiko.htm

Every day I make an attempt to add a little bit more music and art knowledge to the Internet, one word at a time. Realizing there aren’t many comprehensive and complete online music and art dictionaries, I set out on a mission to compile my own.

https://musicterms.artopium.com

https://artterms.artopium.com

If you appreciate my efforts and you think I bring a good service to the Internet then please consider upvoting as your support encourages my efforts. Thank you!

Sort:  

I have to say this was very good timing. My daughter is just getting into Japanese music and she loved this. I appreciate your hard work.

Thanks, I think this video is pretty freakin cool. Glad your daughter enjoyed it and I bet she's very excited to start drumming. It looks quite fun!

Aaaah, the sincronicity! The choreography! The beautiful sound!

Their movements remind me of swords, and I wasn't expecting them to use their voices. It looks like a show given by warriors. And oh, the synergy.

Such an amazing video. <3333 I can feel my heart beating faster after watching it lol. So immersed was I in it.

This video gave me chills

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.29% upvote!
I was summoned by @artopium. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77