Music Word of the Day: Contrast

in #wordoftheday6 years ago (edited)

Term: Contrast

Definition: A compositional device which has

come to be one of the principal properties of good music. A variety of contrast(s) such as tempo (contrasting fast to slow), timbre (contrasting strings to brass or strings to woodwinds), dynamics (contrasting loud to soft), and meter (contrasting duple to triple) is essential to good composition. Contrast is a means to maintain listener interest.



Music Word of the Day


Every day I make an attempt to add a little bit more music knowledge to the Internet, one word at a time. Realizing there aren’t many comprehensive and complete online music dictionaries, I set out on a mission to compile my own.


Please be sure to check out these other projects




Visit Artopium.com a website dedicated to helping artists sell their works.

Read "What is Artopium?" on Steemit


Help Support Artopium & ArtoLabs

I'm asking all my friends and supporters to consider downloading the new Brave Browser as way of helping me to raise capital for Artopium & ArtoLabs. This costs you absolutely nothing, but I get a referral reward if you use Brave. I wrote this very comprehensive article about this here:

https://steemit.com/brave/@artopium/support-artopium-using-brave-browser


Contact Me

I'm "Mike-A" on the Artopium Discord server.

Or visit my website mike.artopium.com







Some helpful articles I've written here on Steemit

How To Sell Your Artistic and Musical Works For Cryptocurrencies! ~ A Step by Step Guide

How To Steemit 101 ~ An Artist’s Guide ~ (OR How To Sell Your Art & Music For Crypto Part II)

I Admit: I Use The Upvote Bots (And Here’s Why)

How To Protect Your Work And Make More Money Selling Art, Music, Fashion, Video & Books!!

An Artists Guide To Making The Most Of Steemit

Learn How To Lawfully Sell Your Art & Music On The Sidewalk (Without A Permit)



Sort:  

Nice one, a bit over my "pay-grade", but I think I get it, I was forced to play a bunch of horrible instruments as a young child, so after that Im a bit traumatized... I love music, and I have a good ear for it, but yeah, sometimes the technicality of instruments and music gives me the chills...
/FF

lol, actually that's sad. Music is my life. But I understand about the technicality. That's why I like to "jam" as opposed to "orchestrate".

Sounds decent!
I should learn to play something again for real this time, not against my will...

Oh for sure. What did they make you play if I might ask? The recorder? I hate that thing.

That man looks very happy. I miss listening to street buskers. Been out in the country too long.

@artopium
Yeah some buskers are good, some are not as good, I some times throw them some money, but only if they are really good or play a song that I really like...
/FF

Thank you, artopium. Upvoted and resteemed!

@ArtTurtle is an upvote bot run by @Artopium dedicated to upvoting your art, music, fashion, video and books. Find out how you can get an upvote for every creative post you make by visitng @ArtTurtle and reading the latest report.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80