Art Word of the Day: Toreutics

in #wordoftheday6 years ago

Toreutics comes from the Greek word “toreutikos”.

It is a rare word used to describe the art of working metal or other materials by the use of embossing, chasing, engraving, and fine carving, to form minutely detailed reliefs or small engraved patterns. Toreutics dates back to the Bronze and Iron Ages.


3b89991d0a6ae66cc8faa82499c47425--ancient-rome-ancient-greece.jpg

Athena bowl from the Hildesheim Silver Treasure; 1st century BC.

This is an excellent video tutorial by artist and youtuber Robin Johnson showing the process known as repousse, one of the many techniques under the art of toreutics.

Art Word of the Day

https://artterms.artopium.com/t/Toreutics.htm

Every day I make an attempt to add a little bit more art knowledge to the Internet, one word at a time. Realizing there aren’t many comprehensive and complete online art dictionaries, I set out on a mission to compile my own.

https://artterms.artopium.com

Also check out

https://musicterms.artopium.com

If you appreciate my efforts and you think I bring a good service to the Internet then please consider upvoting as your support encourages my efforts. Thank you!

Sort:  

Nice word and informative, will I remember it? I don't know. Probably remember the piece of art work more..
It's amazing, the detail is out of this world.
The video is great too. Completely different art you dont think about much. Thanks

Thank you. I try to bring something interesting to the table. :)

Interesting word and video. I learned a new word today and also about the repousse technique. Would you be doing your own version of this?

I just write the dictionary and help people learn something new. This looks like a fun but expensive hobby.

Maybe we can try this with something that is not expensive :D

I may be dumb but i think I will need some of these words you are providing in phonetics! Really nice pic with this post. Yippy for Art Word Dictionary!

Thank you!

I love the Athena bowl!!

Aaaaaaaaaaaah, I want to make one like this one day. :( How can it be so pretty. It's the most beautiful sculpture (if I can call it that) that I have ever seen. <3333

Oh cool! I'm glad I inspired you!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 1.97% upvote!
I was summoned by @artopium. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75