The Beginning of the License Plate Guitar Pt 2 and a half

in #woodworking6 years ago (edited)

This is just a short reprise from yesterdays post. I did a very small bit more to the license plate guitar today but had to quit because the tools I was working with just aren't right for what I want to do. So tomorrow I will scour the town looking for a saw with a .020 kerf cut so I can finish the job.
Tonight I drilled the cleats for the plate.

image

image

After I was sure the plate would sit right I focused on the neck. I am itchy to start shaping but I need the fretboard glued on and slotted before I can do that. I chose a nice piece of leopard wood for the fretboard.

image

image

image

So before I glue it to the neck I need to cut the fret slots. The slots are at exact mathematical positions. I personally use templates downloaded from the internet but tonight I had a problem in that the scale length kept coming up short. I looked through some old pieces of wood and found a template I made a while back and marked it with that. Now comes the frustrating part, the miter box is too wide and the saw is too thick. So I ground the saw sides to thickness and tried to cut the slots but I couldn't get them deep enough. Which is funny because I've been known to cut them too deep. I did get a few cut but tomorrow I will find a good saw and finish it.

image

I could just keep at it but this is a critical part that needs to be just right. Join me tomorrow as I cut the rest from a killer miter box I will build and my new saw.......

image

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

You have an amazing talent

I started following your build process yesterday, and I'm already floored by what you're pulling off. I do some crazy shit with wood, but you're going places.

My one question, is the front of the guitar only one license plate? Won't that be a bit small?

No it works great here is an example..... Please excuse the bad playing.....

You learn something new every day!

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

I have a small hand saw that is known as a Gentleman's saw (clearly I have no business possessing such a thing). It is very fine almost like a jewellers saw. Maybe worth checking out.

That's kinda what I'm looking for and Ace used to have them but no more. I found thin pull saw today that actually might be too thin but I will see. The wrapper says its kerf is .017 so that close . should be able to press the frets in and Ill never need glue

This post has received a 18.39% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Invest your Steem Power and help minnow at the same time to support our daily curation initiative. Delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one of the following links: 1000 SP, 5000 SP or more. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99