Made a Cool New Slide Today

in #woodworking7 years ago (edited)

A customer wanted a specific slide that I didn't have made up so I told him it would be Friday. I drove to town to the Rockler dealer and lo and behold there is one last piece of the acrylic I needed to make his slide so i bought it and headed home. Acrylic is not like wood and actually bonds much easier by using good CA glue. So here I am with a 5.25 inch acrylic pen blank in my hand and I need a 2.5 inch piece twice as wide as the blank. I get to the band saw and cut it in half which works out perfect. Then I scuff up the surfaces to be glued and spread a little CA glue and clamp it for about 15 or 20 minutes. Take it over to the belt sander and flatten one surface and also the bone. Then because the bone is porous I coat it with the glue and let it dry. Then I glue them together and clamp it for a half hour or so.... From there I shape it as usual and sand and polish it to its beautiful finished self..... It ain't wood but its cool.....lol

image

image

image

image

image

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

You got a 5.42% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @mrkstn1!

It is cool. I have seen it used for pen blanks.

Well actually that is a pen blank cut in half and glued together

Nice work gluing that together I can't tell.

Another cool looking slide :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 3.59% vote... I was summoned by @mrkstn1! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78