Steemit Witnesses I Voted for and Why

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

coollogo_com-20743253.gif

So the lovely @katrina-ariel challenged us to spread awareness about witnesses and this is me doing my part.
Find her post here

At first I thought there were only 50 witnesses and just picked the names that sounded cool from the witness list.
^^^ I think steemit should do something about that as most people find it hard enough to vote, much more the process of adding someone not in the top 50.

Over the past few months I've removed and added to my witness list. And I wish to share my current list with you. Remember, this is only MY OPINION

@gtg
@timcliff
@pharesim
@followbtcnews
@jerrybanfield
@pfunk
@drakos
@utopian-io
@yabapmatt
@therealwolf
@fyrst-witness
@themarkymark
@ocd-witness
@adsactly-witness
@mahdiyari
@sircork
@enginewitty
@guiltyparties
@jatinhota
@emrebeyler
@yehey
@jrswab
@yanosh01
@thekitchenfairy
@justyy
@yuriks2000

26 votes.

Why did I vote for them? MOST(If not all) are very active and some have impacted my life as far as Steemit is concerned. I can't go into details for everyone but in no particular order and off the top of my head...

@yehey. This guy spent two days tryna fix a problem I had. And he did it without asking me to vote him for witness. He also runs a discord and a bot to help minnows get upvotes. Vote for him. And join his discord here.

@jrswab
First witness I spoke to when I joined Steemit.
I was in my "upvote me please" phase. He showed me some tough love and weirdly inspired me into winning my first competition here so I could make my own damn steem with my dignity intact. Votes a lot on technology posts.

Personal rating 8/10

@enginewitty
An overall good guy. Very active, friendly and helpful despite his status. Brain of @thealliance. This guy is Batman cool with Deadpool's playfulness. He also supports charities and helps welcome newbies to the steemit platform.

Personal rating 9/10

@thekitchenfairy
Fairly new witness. She is very active on discord and a member of the prestigious @thealliance family.

@utopian-io
These guys are changing the world at rapid rates. They may damn well replace GitHub in the near future. Very active, a lot of mods, and open to contributions and positive critism. They need all the support you can give. Vote for them and Join their discord here

Personal rating 9.5/10

@drakos
One of the top witnesses for a reason. While many go incognito and ignore the public, he is always looking to help out. On more than one occasion I've seen him rise to the aid of a downtrodden minnow who got downvoted by a bully. He runs the helpful steemit.info and delegates to the @youarehope charity blog. Although I've never interacted with him personally, I can say he's one of the people this site needs.

Personal rating. 9/10

@jerrybanfield
Most popular witness on steemit? Fantastic businessman, many only know him for his bidbot services but he has a massive following on social media like Facebook and Twitter. He has crazy outreach and really shares the news and benefits of steemit across the internet. He's Steemits' greatest shilling asset.

@sircork
I understand this is run by two people.
The main @sircork is a benelovent man. He's the founder of the wonderful charity @youarehope, and runs @steemStarNetwork
The second person is @rhondak. I don't know much about this person other that he/she is the cofounder of @thewritersblock (curation) and @tarc which is an animal shelter. Talk about zeal and compassion.
Vote and donate to the charities.

Personal rating 9/10

@pharesim
Ahh.. he was giving me upvotes before I knew how upvotes worked. Though I haven't gotten any lately, I've noticed he helps people who newly join the site so I'm guessing maybe he thinks I'm no longer a minnow? Joke joke.
Nice guy, loves the minnows. Vote for him.

@yabapmatt
Very brilliant mind. Creator of steembottracker.com
He is also behind @postpromoter software. Steemit definitely needs him around.

@timcliff
Looking for a diehard steemit fan? This is your man. He has a wealth of knowledge on all steemit matters and protocols. Active poster and responds to everyone. Vote for him.

@fyrst-witness
I understand this is the witness account of @booster. Lately he's been fighting the good fight against reward pool abuse on our behalf so I guess that's a good reason to vote him. If there's nothing in the reward pool then we minnows will go empty handed.
Vote for @fryst-witness and use @booster to get your posts that much needed exposure.

@mahdiyari
If he's not on your list, then you don't love steemit. He's the creator of steemit tools that form the backbone of many integral parts of steemit. These include steemauto (backbone for voting trails) and steemfollower. He's also a crypto analyser, Chemical and Computer engineer. Bruh.. just vote.

Personal rating 9/10

@guiltyparties
Another @thealliance member (seriously these guys are the best family here), he focuses on the veterans on steemit. Helping them keep up with the speed of the computer age. Hehe old joke
He's also involved in #teamsilvergolf and actively works to educate everyone about the threat of phishing and how we can avoid falling victims to it. Actively posts here.

@gtg
The one and only Gandalf the Grey. Works a lot on steemit nodes and security updates. You wouldn't want to be in an unsafe environment would you? Encourage him then.

@themarkymark
This game loving IT wizard is also adept at catching and exposing scammers and runs a blacklist on @buildawhale to stop them as well as checkmate spammers. If he doesn't deserve your vote for ridding steemit of nefarious elements then I don't know who does.

@emrebeyler, @yanosh01, @justyy and @yuriks2000 are all hardworking and need votes to rise to the top 50. It's kinda hard to match those who have @freedom backing them but hey, you know what they say about the will of the people.

Honourable mention, @curie
Personally I don't like them. Seems their votes are based on recommendations which are subject to bias. And their mods aren't too open-minded. Some are more concerned with their "acceptance rate" than with actually rewarding quality posts.
I kid you not, I've seen someone receive the following reply
"The submitted post is very good and informative. If it were up to me it would be curated but I just can't submit it as it may not be approved"

unnamed.gif
Bruh...

Not all of us are photographers or storywriters, some people just have interesting moments in their lives to share and you have to allow them express themselves the way they can and not in a singular narrow pattern(rules).

They do give hefty votes to minnows, and some of my friends have been curated a couple of times so I guess the good outweighs the bad??
They also give minnows something to strive for, getting a @curie vote is like winning a $1,000 voucher. At the very least they make people care about posting quality content. So... Vote for @curie.


thealliance_pagebreak.png


And there you have it. My witness list.

To those who I didn't breakdown - it's nothing personal, I will probably edit this post later. Hey, at least you have my vote already!

To vote for witnesses, click here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You’ll need your active key to vote for witnesses. When you’re finished voting, log out and log back in with your posting key. All of this might sound complicated the first time (it did to me), but it gets easy after a while. ;)

Personally I just used my generated password, but I don't know how safe that is. Cheeky smile.

To vote for someone who isn’t in the top 50, you simply write their Steemit username in the box at the bottom of the witnesses page (without the @ symbol).

IMG_20180517_185221_248.jpg

Thanks for reading.

Oh by the way I recently started an alphabetical written rap series, feel free to peruse and offer opinions as well as topic suggestions in accordance to the theme.

Quick shoutout to @onelovedtube and @reachout for their efforts to assist the minnows. Find them on discord.
Onelovedtube Discord
Reach out Discord

QmeHFBAe5z2qiq3XAUYjMPgPyoc8qPRwaQPiDRLWUu8RnB-1.png


Don't forget to

COMMENT | UPVOTE | RESTEEM

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Very good choices, I think I may set @OneLoveDtube proxy witness vote on you I plan in future to set myself as proxy vote to onelove and once we have our website functional have a list such as yours. How will you wield this power?

I would suggest doing so, I've done it a month ago 😁

I know you did, you were actually the idea behind it!

Reviewing the witnesses every month to make sure no vote is wasted and those we vote for are working to achieve goals that benefit the steemit ecosystem.
It's an all round effort for us all to keep the site, nodes and steem alive and progressing.

Yeah there are a few out there who do not intend to help that is for sure

Hooray!

This is the first time I saw my name in the first position. Someone out there listening to my prayers.

Cheers.

Haha. Keep up the good work

Excellent, well justified choices. Remember that witnesses keep the Steem blockchain running, without them all of this won't exist!

Thanks for including me 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ulqu3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

At first I thought there were only 50 witnesses and just picked the names that sounded cool from the witness list.
^^^ I think steemit should do something about that as most people find it hard enough to vote, much more the process of adding someone not in the top 50.

So much this ^^^

Also, typo in our 24/7 live network name, @SteemStarNetwork, not "betwork" - thanks :)

Edited, thanks for being awesome.
Keep up the good work and I hope many more people vote for you.

Just added @mahdiyari a few days ago. Great post buddy😎

Greta choice many I knew and have voted for some not and now off to check them out

tip!

Thank you for reading. And the tip!

Hi @ulqu3! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Chck out this new post from @tattoodjay: Click. Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56