Witness and Projects Updates; Summarizing July

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Current Project Updates and Witness Summary of July

I present to you my witness and project update for the last month. Here I write about ongoing projects, ideas for the future and some of my views on things.

I hope you enjoy what I do. I'd appreciate a comment if there is anything that you think I should know or do. Any feedback is highly appreciated.

So much is going on and happening in all the communities that I enjoy working with that I haven't had the time to write a post about it. Here is a very comprehensive overview of it all. 😎

Gridcoin: buzz and updates of the explorer

What a month July was for this active community. With some big drama and issues, it was almost a hot zone for a while. There was some big buzz, to say the least. With the issues of projects not getting included and the long duration for stats to be collected and published in superblocks. All the recent issues are solved, thanks to an excellent development team that worked day and night.

I will always regard this as my home zone and will always support you guys! Gridcoin is a coin with a purpose and a very active and passionate community. Drama is inevitable!

Gridcoinstats v3

This project is my current and biggest at the moment. It's taken almost all of my active time for the moment and will for a time.

With some more time on my hands again I am finally able to get going with my vision of the next version of the block explorer. As this is my third rewrite, many new features are going into it.

The code is written purely from the ground up to make it more efficient and to handle many issues that have been popping up lately.

Here is a small list of what I'm working on for the moment.

Better Fork handling

The code will handle forks in a whole new way and will minimize, and hopefully eliminate, the issues that the page has had the past few days.

User Notifications

Without going into any details, the page will have a system to let you get notifications when there is an incoming activity such as a DPoR/PoS reward or a transaction from someone.

GRC Rain

The client has a feature with which you can do a share drop by project, but it's limited to some fixed parameters as well as single projects at the time. The page will have an option to generate a share drop payout string that you can use with the client. It will be customizable based on a few different parameters. These can be for example max RAC, recent activity and wallet value.

Mining Calculator

I have certainly not forgotten about the most requested feature from the community, a mining and profitability calculator.

Due to the nature of how BOINC works and that it doesn't have a certain way to determine the RAC output it has been tricky to find a good way to deal with it. But certainly not impossible. It will serve as an expected guideline. I will do my best to make it the best mining calculator based on the data that is provided by the projects.

Team Neutral

And the most interesting thing to date is that the page is going Team Neutral. We will collect stats for all BOINC users and provide expected earnings for users if they would start using Gridcoin today. For now, they will have to join the team, but soon that may not be a requirement.

A few of my Gridcoin related posts

BOINC Research Updates (How mining really should work)
Gridcoin Research Wallet Tips and Tricks for New Users
Why Team Neutrality on Gridcoin Research will be Positive

Steem: Minnow Witness support and some coding

My steem witness node has been running very stable. After the update to the latest 0.19.1 version, I haven't had to restart it even once. It's been stably producing around 10-12 new blocks per day.

A big thank you to all of you that have voted me for witness!

Minnow Witness Support

As some of you may have seen, I started a new project last week, the minnow witness project. Its goal is to help new and upcoming witnesses that may have a hard to be noticed. Its secondary goal is to spread awareness of the need to vote and support those that make this excellent platform run smoothly every day.

Raise awareness with my Minnow Witness project by voting for me as a proxy, or reading my posts about new and upcoming witnesses that I find doing a good job. New posts are out about every 1-2 weeks, where I analyze the current witness list.

Done some monitoring scripts

I've made a few scripts to ease my monitoring of nodes. It alerts me when I generate a block, or if too much time since the last block has passed. I'm currently running it in a very crude development stage. Based on SteemPy and Python it will have a low entry point for most witnesses when I release it open-source on GitHub.

Witness stance

My witness node is currently running at place #61. I'm currently running a bias variable price due to the low pricing of SBD the last weeks. I'm looking into changing back to normal price feeds again.

My interest (APR) is set to 1.5% as I believe we can again reward our users for holding SBD. A 0% interest was good when SBD was trading for double the price. But with a price at $0.95-$1.05, I believe we can once again reward them.

I'm eagerly awaiting what the devs will come up with HF20, that I haven't had time to look in to yet. There's still no official date yet, but the code has had some new commits that you can review on the GitHub repo.

A few of my Steem related posts

Starting up "Project Minnow Witness"; Current Report End of July
Why Flagging on Steemit is Essential and Good
The Difference of Votes and "Witness Votes"; Don't waste your Witness Votes on Dead Witnesses!
Witnesses, Why haven't you updated yet!?

BitShares, Full Node running flawless

I became a BitShares witness a few weeks ago to support another great Graphene chain.

As a witness, I started out with making a full node accessible for the community. It was asked about and delivered. Through BitShares UI PR#195 my node is now included in the official BitShares UI client.

wss://bitshares.crypto.fans/ws

Witness Nodes

Both my witness nodes have been running without issues since the last update was released. Due to the witness model of BitShares, I'm not actively doing any blocks. Only the top 25 generates new blocks, but this does not stop me from running for a witness. If you are a BitShares holder, consider voting for me if you think I'm worth it.

Cross Graphene Monitoring Code

The same way I monitor my Steem nodes I monitor my BitShares nodes. It uses the Python library for BitShares. My goal is to have a Graphene cross-network monitoring script made, which will I shall publish as an open-source project later on. I'm making real progress 👍

A few of my BitShares related posts

Trade STEEM/SBD with Peace in Mind and Securely on the BitShares Open DEX
BitShares Incident Report from 10th of July; Mandatory Update Released
Why You Should Go Decentralized All In; A Quick Guide to BitShares DEX

Crypto.fans started

During July I bought the domain crypto.fans, which now are the domain that my BitShares full node can be accessed on.

I already have a few plans for what the page will be about, and there will be more about this in future updates. For the moment it's only a placeholder and informative page.

With that I end my report for July. Looking forward to an exciting August on all my favorite communities.

Vote for me as Witness

Enjoying what I do and contribute to the community, please vote for me as a Witness or a Steemit Proxy Voter.

By voting for me as a witness, you will support an active witness on Steem and BitShares. I believe a witness should keep up-to-date on current happenings and be a conduit between the many users and the system.

Read my Witness Posts: BitShares Witness - Steemit Witness

Support my Projects: Project Minnow Witness

Steemit: sc-steemit
BitShares: sc-ol

Proud Supporter of the Cryptocurrency Gridcoin

Sort:  

Voted for you today. I'm a fan of all three of these projects. :)

They do have purposes all of them :)

If I could get the support and time I would run a witness node for all the Graphene chains, they are just so amazing all of them. The PeerPlays network is truly a great idea and would be one that I would love to support as well.

I thank you for your support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61599.36
ETH 3407.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47