Starting up "Project Minnow Witness"; Current Report End of July

in #minnowwitness7 years ago (edited)

Project Minnow Witness

July has soon passed by and with it there has been many new talented witnesses, a mandatory update to Steem and some mood swings on the market.

As a Witness and a Proxy Voter I've decided to start up a new project called "Project Minnow Witness". Anyone that votes for me as a Proxy can rest assured that they are supporting the very new witnesses that are doing a good job. By going after a few standards that I outline below and in every of my reports I will up-vote as many Minnow Witnesses as possible (below 50).

A vote will be moved from the top to the bottom to support new witnesses.

New to Steemit? Confused about Voting, Witness Voting and Proxy Voting? Read The Difference of Votes, Witness Votes and Proxy Votes

Current Status of the Witnesses

For those of you who rarely think about witnesses or watch the Witness status pages at SteemDB or SteemD this post is for all of you.

On 19th July there was an update to the Steem software in the form of Steem 0.19.1 and I wrote a post following up on how quick each witness was to update to this release in my post "Witnesses, Why haven't you updated yet!?".

Difference of Main and Backup Witness

There are 20 Main witnesses. They are responsible of witnessing (producing) a block every minute. They are also responsible of setting the consensus of Steem Price, APR and Block Size.

Everyone from 21 and below are backup witnesses and are responsible of witnessing (producing) one block based on their share of votes. They are not part of the consensus process, but it's still very important to set up a good working node none the less and the responsibility shouldn't be neglected.

Witnesses with Interest

One of the many jobs for a witness is to decide on whether there should be an interest. Setting an interest is quite divided among the community.

I am currently neutral and do not base any decision on whether a witness has none, low or high APR.

The witnesses with interest are:

Witnesses still Running 0.19.0

There are currently 11 witnesses running an outdated version of the software. It has been recommended by the developers to update to rectify some of the issues that was hurting the network.

They are:

Running with higher block sizes

Since the release of 0.19.1 it was recommended to lower the blocksize to normal size (65,536) again. There are still a few witnesses running with the higher blocksize.

They are:

Outdated Price Feeds

Running an update price feed is vital to be a witness. There are some witnesses that hasn't been doing this for some time.

They are:

Missing Witness URL

Including a witness link to the witness decleration may not be an essensial part, but it is important so others can see what your plans are as a witness. Some users have no links.

They are:

Dead Witnesses

There are witnesses that has a very high position on the voting board but have disabled their node manually or the network has disabled them if they missed to many blocks in a row. A vote on them is a waste on another good witness

They are:

My Votes as a Proxy Voter
Help me with Project Minnow Witness

So, with all this information I hope everyone can make a good judgement on who they think they can trust their votes with. These are only statistical data. Everyone should read up on each witnesses to get more details about them to form their own judgement.

Anyone can use me as a proxy voter, read more on how to do that. My voting strategy is to vote from the bottom and upwards on the list, giving new members of the witness crew a good chance to get in. I go through the list at random times, at least once a month, and review the witnesses according to the criteria I've described above. Anyone running a stable, up to date, witness node on the bottom 50 list can practically count on a vote from me. I will take my vote from the witness at the top of the list to give to new ones at the bottom.

My Current Below 50

Vote for me as Witness

Enjoying what I do and contribute to the community, please vote for me as a Witness or a Steemit Proxy Voter.

Voting on me as a witness you will support an active witness on Steem and BitShares. I believe a witness should keep up-to-date on current happenings and be a conduit between the many users and the system.

Read my Witness Posts: Joining as BitShares Witness, Joining as Steemit Witness

Steemit: sc-steemit
BitShares: sc-ol

Proud Supporter of the Cryptocurrency Gridcoin

Sort:  

UPDATE REGARDING INTEREST (APR)

I have updated my post to clarify that I'm not basing my judgement of witness votes by their APR setting, for now. There is still much discussion regarding this and I'm only including this for the information.

While my voting is neutral I myself as a witness have decided to a setting of 1.5% APR to be justifiable.

Due to the fact that I'm not a main witness I am however not part of the consensus process of deciding the APR.

this is a great idea. I am glad to see someone trying to handle the dead witness issue here.

Yes, we really need to weed them out and make users vote on active witnesses.

1- Thank you for your effort. I really like it when I see active witnesses. keep up the good work.
2- Upvoted! resteemed! Voted for you as a witness!
3- I like your idea, but it is very suitable for those that are not planning to vote themselves. I do plan to vote. That is why I will not delegate my voting power.
4- But I will vote for those witnesses that you have recommended at the end of the post.

The list I compile is of course one that you can vote on yourself if you wish to do so. Using me as a proxy is something one that aren't as active can chose to do. I will keep on analyzing the minnow witnesses on a regular basis.

Thank you for your support

Great summary. I have since updated my block size to reflect the prevailing 65536. I have changed my Interest to .5 %. At this time, it doesn't really mean much, but I'm sure a consensus will be reached if SBD continues to hover below that $1 mark.

Good stuff. You do a lot of great work for our community here and you have my vote. I appreciate you. I also appreciate the votes on my blog. you rock

I think this is a good idea @sc-steemit

Thanks. The main thing for new witnesses is that the big fellas has such a big share. They can feel impossible to catch up with no matter how good you are.

I wish to lift the guys that are doing a good and dedicated job by running effective witness nodes and in the process make it easy for everyone that wishes the same thing by publishing these reports for everyone that uses me as a Proxy Voter.

you'r issues was really good..

Minnows grow to become whale is impossible to the real world. In biology whale is whale and minnows is to minnows. But in steemit minnows has a chance to become whale. But hard work is a must.

Hard work, dedication and collaboration are the ways to great things.

Amazing post @sc-steemit thanks for sharing us
its very helpfull for me
just upvoted your post if possible upvote me back please

What did you find most interesting about the post?

I'm witness in every whale. How they get bigger and bigger. Whats the point of beiing a witness?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49