Why Flagging on Steemit is Essential and Good

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Flagging; Vital to a Healthy Platform

During just a few weeks Steemit has had a great expansion of new users, something everyone are looking on as a positive thing and should be considered positive.

But during this same time we've had numerous occasions of new users copying other postes, word by word, from other Steemit authors and posting under their own name. Most of the time without formatting the text or bothering to add proper links to images. This has been done to myself on multiple occasions as well.

Definition of plagiarism for English Language Learners
: the act of using another person's words or ideas without giving credit to that person : the act of plagiarizing something

This is very bad behavior, but was expected to come at some point on a platform that rewards money for words.

What to do?

Everyone has the ability to say No, This is Enough!.

Use your voting weight by flagging this negative behavior or call on @steemcleaners whenever you see something like this. On the upp right corner of every post there is a flag that can be used just the same way as voting.

My own experience and tactics

I have been copied numerous times by now. Posting mainly on the small, but very friendly, group of #gridcoin it's been easy to spot when someone does this to me and also posting in the same tag (pretty stupid though!). Whenever I see something I thing is a copied work I look for clues in the text, maybe a link that they missed and included or an image or a phrase that I know someone to use.

You could also look up their blog and see what else they have written about and also look at their reputation score.

If the work is indeed plagiarism I write a small comment and flag the post to make sure they earn no rewards on their post. Flagging someone will make their reputation score go down making them even easier to spot later on.

As a Witness I earn SP and some of this power I use to make sure that Steemit stays clean from bad behavior like Plagiarism and Spam comments

Monitor your tags that you like

Everyone should try to monitor their tags that they post on the most and care for. This is our community and we should work together as a group to fight this bad behavior. But we should at the same time inform them and educate them.

Looking forward to a cleaner community with more original work :)

PLEASE DON'T UPVOTE PLAGIARISM

Image Sources (unknown copyrights):

https://emailclientexpert.wordpress.com/category/managing-flagging/
https://www.portneuf.org/about/community-service/

Vote for me as Witness

Enjoying what I do and contribute to the community, please vote for me as a Witness or a Steemit Proxy Voter.

Voting on me as a witness you will support an active witness on Steem and BitShares. I believe a witness should keep up-to-date on current happenings and be a conduit between the many users and the system.

Read my Witness Posts: Joining as BitShares Witness, Joining as Steemit Witness

Steemit: sc-steemit
BitShares: sc-ol

Proud Supporter of the Cryptocurrency Gridcoin

Sort:  

I can't believe the lengths people go to! I have been writing professionally for over 30 years and plagiarism is something that happens when you're not looking. I always try to keep my writing positive and hopefully welcoming and trust others to do the same. However when you are open to the world, you also pick up people who have bad behaviour. If I see something I certainly will flag!! JValentine

Yes I do flag plagiarism, I check the age of the account and if the person is new to the platform, has posted ther own content before and copied an article from the internet, I dont flag, but I explain that the community can see it and cheetah will be on them, as will steemcleaners and others like me.

However if someone copies another steem users post, then no warnings, immediate flag. Also plagiarism accounts that have many posts, I flag them all and report to steemcleaners on the Discord.

wellcome to steemit community @ sc-steemit have a happy hourney here
i just upvoted your post and following you. you can follow
me at @zeeshankhan .i hope you will follow me back

Hmm, automated comments are nice, but quite spammy to. You've misspelled "Journey" 😆
I let you go this time, you did upvote the post, but please don't auto comment to much and please don't welcome users that's not new.

However, you did NOT follow me and you're pretty much trying to lure in a user follower.

i am following you and upvoted your post you just check it please

Ok, you do now, but you didn't when your where commenting.

i forget to upvote don't be rude dear

... are you for real?

Haha, yeah. Makes you wonder 😆

I'm not rude, I'm factual.

ok now please upvote my post

You've deserved it so here you go 👍

Flagging is definitely an essential option at Steemit to keep it healthy, free from spam and scam.

This deserves some attention. Upvoted and resteemed :]

Totally agree with you ! 👍👍

I agree that it is to fight plagiarism. But there must be a self-appointed authority by the Steemit Staff who controls and verifies the reports as it happened on TSU. Self-justice alone does not agree. I see many abuses on this thing.
We need rules, an authority that controls all the reports and not just some. This is democracy. The rest are just Fascist behaviors that hurt the growth of the platform.
No one will invest in a social where everyone is sheriff.

Yeah, that's very true!!

I am new to Steemit, and value this information highly. I have an online business which constantly suffers from plagiarism inside eBay. My sales wording is frequently copied and pasted, complete with format, including font colour! These word thieves need to be eradicated everywhere possible.

Hello @sc-steemit, I came to this post searching for solution for flag abuse. I mean what can I do when someone flags me and leave no good reason behind?
Is there any way I can report the issue so that steemit team will review the user and his flagging behaviour and take possible action?
Someone flagged my post and leave no reason behind. Actually I had already noticed same user flagging other post without a good reason.
Thanks in advance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41