THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 50 – EASTERN HOGNOSE SNAKE

in #wild-man7 years ago

This is one of my favorite snakes!


The Eastern Hognose Snake (Heterodon platirhinos) is one amazing snake. I have always loved these guys and we were blessed enough to find one at the home of @grandpa-pepper while we were up in Wisconsin.

One of my favorite defense mechanisms of the Eastern Hognose Snake is that they can spread their “hood” much like a Cobra does. Compare the photo above to the one below to see what I mean.

As a bonus illustration of this defense mechanism, check out this video I made the other year of a larger Hognose Snake up in Wisconsin.

HOGNOSE?

The name “hognose” comes from the upturned nose that these creatures have. They use it to dig in sandy soil, and it definitely gives them a much different look than that of many other snakes.

In the photo above you can see the snake acting normal. However, just a little bit of perceived threat can make them employ another defense mechanism, playing dead.

Yeah, these snakes are really good at playing dead, which you may have already seen in our previous post where “Sweet-Pepper” picked it up when we first found it. I’ll include a second video below of it playing dead after I include the next video in this series.

The information is the video is original but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 50

EASTERN HOGNOSE SNAKE


BONUS VIDEO: PLAYING DEAD

If you enjoyed this video, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make it!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-eastern-hognose-snake



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

It's cute in the picture, but it's actually scary.

I love that the snake plays dead. So awesome! For some reason it reminds me of my dog when she is faking like she is asleep so she won't have to come outside. She prefers the air conditioner

Our great Wild man, I think that am a bit more fan of snakes-thanks to you haha..the snake looks beautiful with awesome colors, thanks for sharing.

In addition to my last comment, feel free to join the conversation in my new post about future of steem...it will motivate you more about steem . More success to you.

I am Cornholio! You will co-operate with my bunghole!

you are spam bot

The principal! He will give me TP! I would hate for my bungholio to get polio....Where I come from, we have no bunghole.

Glad to hear that you might like snakes a little more!

Absolutely, however via your posts...I still wouldnt date a cobra haha

I am into homesteading and gardening too. I enjoyed your post i will be following for more! check my post on cabbage worms and an organic remedy here! https://steemit.com/homesteading/@palmerjm1/pieris-rapae-caterpillar-feast-on-my-organic-garden-how-to-solve Thanks papa pep!

I am a bit scared of snakes (I know it is silly) but that said, there is no denying that he is a very good looking thing.

I like the pictures of him. I would not like to see him in real life (no offence)

I love that he plays dead. Smart little guy.

HOW CAN ANYONE HAVE A FAVORITE SNAKE???????

I know, it is hard to pick one as a favorite... I suppose that you just like them all too much to pick only one?

Yep, and @papa-pepper has too many of them :)

Wow, am afraid of those creatures. But they look so amazing in these pictures. The way you are handling them, it seems that they are not dangerous.

These ones are not dangerous, in my opinion.

Snakes are less friendly to humans but, am still surprised how reverse is the case with papa-pepper😳

About 3 years ago i found pure white color snake (much smaller then in your pics) near the house..she was agrresive and i killed her.Later on felt sorry about her.

Wow, i wonder what kind it was.

I loved your little ones post on this snake on their page!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40