When I was a kid Challenge - the Swinging 60s

in #wheniwasakid6 years ago (edited)

I started digging in the archives for photos from my childhood days after reading about @grow-pro's awesome When I was a kid challenge.
Hope you're also going to take a peek at that and join in the fun, as I really enjoyed my trip down memory lane, hope you do as well, some of the stories are sure to give you a big belly laugh:)
Liz John Lennon.png
I was the oldest of 5 children, the only daughter, my brothers all were real rascals. Being the first grandchild, I was doted on by my grandparents. Grandpa Saunders was not happy the first time Mom dressed me in trousers, actually pulled me aside and said I must not allow them to dress me up as a boy as I was his little girl!

Liz Oupa Saunders.jpg
Grandpa Saunders
Liz child sitting.jpg
Mom's youngest brother had a huge influence on my life, and he was more like an older brother.
LizRulov.jpg
My uncle holding me, like a proud older brother he was!

The Eastern Cape city we lived in then had a bustling beachfront with annual fancy dress competitions.
Uncle who was super talented in the arts, used to dress me up in all kinds of outfits. So sad that I could not find any of those photos! I often won the competitions as he was super talented, actually ended up as a theatre wardrobe manager in his latter years.
He dressed me up on one occasion as the Terror of St Trinian's; with a long cigarette holder, beehive hairstyle and stilettos that I could hardly walk in. I still remember the large box of chocolates that I won, was almost as big as I was, could hardly carry it, but I clung onto it for dear life, would not let anyone help me with that.
terror st trinians setana books.jpg
Image Credit - Setana Books

We moved to Dad's new workplace in a forestry station deep in the mountains of the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Those were fabulous days, my brothers and I would walk through the forest to the tiny farm school picking gum off trees, that was our chewing gum! I can still smell that forest, proteas grew wildly there as did the 'Buchu' bush, a powerful herbal remedy for many ailments. Of course we were terrified of the Baboons that roamed those mountains and the boys would often tease us by mimicking their barks.
forest.jpg
Image credit
My brothers used to keep snakes as pets in a snake pit in the backyard, until Mom found a cloth bag with something wriggling inside in their wardrobe. That put an end to the snake pet saga!
Our school consisted of 18 pupils in total! The headmaster had a dual role, he was teacher to all the children as well. I still remember how we laughed as my brother came first and last in his grade - he was the only one in that grade :)
We each had our own little vegetable patch at that school, that's probably where my love of gardening was awakened.
Liz school photo.png

When I got to my teens, as with teens throughout times, I wanted to be dressed in the latest fashion; it was the late 60s, the days of Twiggy, Mary Quant, The Beatles and many famous icons.
Twiggy.jpg
Image credit
I had to have round John Lennon glasses.
LizMel.jpg
My best friend Melanie & I

Being one of five children, I learned to design and sew my own clothes, often with the help of my arty uncle.
I’ve told this story many times, but have to share it with you.
It happened one day that Mom had upholstery fabric left over in bright psychedelic colours, which was the fad at the time!
I got the brainwave to use it to make a funky pair of bell bottoms, and did I look funky that night!
bell bottoms amazon.jpg
Image Credit
At the end of the evening, I invited friends over to my home for a cup of coffee, but of course realised my mistake too late.
As we walked into the lounge and I sat down, I and my stunning pair of bell bottoms blended in perfectly with the couch.
Of course I got teased about that endlessly, and those bell bottoms ended up on the scrap heap, never to be seen again :)
Never took a photo of that one but the memories are etched in my mind forever!
Good memories of carefree days, thank you @grow-pro!

Hope to hear your stories of When I was a kid challenge.

THE CHALLENGE:
Want to Enter? It's Simple!
• The post can be a photo from your childhood or something that reminds you of your childhood - music, food, clothing, toys, places, or anything like that! Feel free to get as creative as you like!
• Be sure to use #iwasakid as 1 of your 5 tags in your post - this will help others view your posts related to the challenge!


Original Content by @lizelle
Please comment, upvote and resteem if you enjoyed my post.
All images property of @lizelle
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

You got a 1.82% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @grow-pro!

Thanks for using Bid Voting Bot @allaz service and Steem Upvote Bot Tracker
I want to introduce you to my new friend @monsterbit in order to give additional thanks!
Do you know who is @monsterbit is? My friend, you can miss a lot. I highly recommend checking him with introduceyourself. He is going to hold interesting contests with cash prizes and promises to tell a lot of interesting stories!

This was a great walk down memory lane! I enjoyed it.

Glad you enjoyed it @ericvancewalton, appreciate your support :)

What a wonderful trip down memory lane :)

That forrest in the Eastern Cape sounds wonderful. Truly a beautiful part of the country.

It was awesome Therneau, would love to visit that place some time. Was called Otterford, about one and a half hours from Port Elizabeth, quite a hectic mountain pass to get there back then :)

Such special memories @lizelle. Sounds like you had a truly magical and special childhood.

It was special times @jusipassetti, thanks for your support always :)

Upvoted and resteemed to my followers!!!!

Nice post!!!!!

You may check my latest post....Contest!!!!

Nice memories Lizelle, I could see my Shortie with a similar bell bottom story in the future, since she got her sewing machine at Christmas there isn't a safe piece of scrap material in the house that she hasn't made something out of it, she took an old blue table cloth and made herself a two piece skirt and vest out of it.

Ah that's sweet, wish I could give Shorty some of my fabric, uncle left me a mountain of the most stunning fabric. Wish Shorty many happy hours of sewing, that was a nice gift, she's sure to discover her niche there, very inventive young lady! These days I only do home decor sewing. Thanks for stopping by mr Papper :)

Hello my friend how are you, I really liked this tour of your life as a child and adolescent, you made your own clothes that good, and the pants I am funny, greetings to the grandmother!

Thanks Jenni, Mom says you must come visit so she can give you a piece of her pie :)
I was so embarrassed at the time, but can laugh about it now, so funny :):)

I would love to travel and eat grandma's cake, your recipes also I like my friend, I just published a potato and spinach pastiche, very rich!

It looks delicious, I had a peek!

INGREDIENTS:

3 cups of mashed potatoes
1 pack of spinach
1 tablespoon chopped garlic
1 cup of tomato sauce
2 cups of cheese
Salt and pepper
Onion (optional)

PROCESS:

Heat the oven to 180 ° C, in a pan add a little oil or butter and fry the onion and garlic. When they are a little transparent add the spinach previously washed.
In a baking tray we spread butter all over the edges, on top we place the mashed potatoes followed by the spinach, the tomato paste and the cheese. We do the same until we finish in cheese. We take the tray to the oven until the cheese is grated.

Wow that's very kind of you Jenni, we will all enjoy this dish :):)

To the friendly order, congratulations again won in the contest of @jaybird

Thank you, that warmed my heart for sure :)

What a wonderful example of an #iwasakid entry! Well done, @lizelle!
FEATURE-U-rocket-gif-wheniwasakid-growpro-animation.gif
Your post will most certainly be featured in the showcase this week!

You have really made me smile! Thank you for sharing and remember that the feature post pays all of you in featured authors!

Ah thank you so very much for this awesome challenge @grow-pro, I thoroughly enjoyed writing it, brought back many happy memories!

Such a wonderful walk down your memory lane. Loved reading every word. You still have those sparkling eyes. What an interesting life you have enjoyed.

I have been so blessed and still am today, run my own little bnb since retirement and meet the most interesting and lovely people, thanks for stopping by @warpedweaver

I peak in on you often. Love your recipes too.

Thank you @warpedweaver, have seen you around ;) Will check your blog out as well, have a great weekend :)

Thanks for coming by. The weekend is starting off pretty good so far. Be safe and well.

Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 82 (3/23/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Thank you so very much @enchantedspirit & @thesteemengine, feel very honoured to be amongst such good company, some great posts on the steem engine :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51