Lilylivered, a Weekend Freewrite

in #weekendfreewrite5 years ago (edited)

art1369317_640 1.jpg

text15.png

I gritted my teeth and said nothing.

This was becoming an all too common experience for me. I'd be sitting at a bar, sipping my lemon drop martini with no sugar ice on the side, and someone would start talking politics. Isn't there a rule no politics or religion in bars? Seems as though a lot of rules have been thrown out the window of late, like the rule to be kind.

"Some fucking racist asshole wrote "even if they voted for Trump?" on my Love Your Neighbors No Matter Who They Are sign. Can you imagine the nerve of that guy? Had to be a guy, no doubt a dumb, redneck, gun toting, white supremacist, homophobic, moronic drug addict like all of them. They have got to go. That car in Charlottesville got the wrong person, it should have taken out a few dozen MAGA hats."

I bit my tongue. I bit it harder. I thought of my mother.

"Honey, the world has a lot of hate in it. Everybody thinks it's the other guy doing the hating. Just be sure you see hate in yourself when it is there, and turn it to love."

So love this man I did, because 'twas I who had written that on his sign.


Suddenly, the heater kicked in with a loud rumbling noise cutting through the silence.

Across the room a woman had to raise her voice to be heard over the ruckus. "So that new neighbor is feeding all the neighborhood cats. My yard is crawling with them. They fight all night long and I can not get any sleep. I tried calling the police but as long as she takes them for free rabies shots and gets them fixed, she hasn't broken any laws." Everyone in the bar heard this, including Mr. Love Your Neighbors, two stools to my right.

"That's right! The cops need to go too! Black Lives Matter!" This he nearly shouted, then raised his fist into the air and pumped it several times, looking around for support.

He got none.

The heater sputtered back off, the chill returned, and the silence along with it. Deeper this time, it was the silence of gritted teeth in nearly every mouth in that room. I knew what the Neighbor Lover did not; there was a table of officers memorializing the recent transition of one of their own, and the woman complaining about the cats was one of them.


A child screamed.

"Pachinko! Pachinko! PACHINKO!" he demanded of his mother. She responded in Japanese trying to calm the poor boy, but he would not stop screaming "pachinkopachinkopachinko!"

Mr. Neighbor Lover's ire rose. He squirmed, he fumed, he put his feet to the floor and staggered over to the woman who was trying desperately to quiet her son. The table of officers became quiet and alert, watching.

"What the fuck does he WANT?" Neighbor Lover demanded of her. "Can't you just give it to him so he'll shut the fuck up?"

"Sorry sir, so sorry. He want play game, but game broken." She gestured to the pinball machine with the out of order sign on it.

text15.png

Well, I feel like I need a fourth prompt to finish this story, but end it here I will because my time is up. You'll have to imagine for yourselves what a Neighbor Lover would do in a situation like this one. I surely don't know, or I would have told you myself. I will confess to the urge to write "even if they voted for Trump?" on those signs, because the most hateful and irrational people I know happen to be among my fellow liberals, and I for one think this is a very big problem.

This is my entry to @mariannewest's fabulous weekend freewrite challenge. The challenge consists of three prompts, which I have presented in bold headings above. The task is to write for five minutes for the first prompt (I write for 4:30 then proofread without changing the story), open the next prompt and write for five more, then finally open and write for the third prompt.

Come join us @freewritehouse, where all bets are off, your inner you gets to splay itself onto the page for all the world to see, and some folks actually read what you publish and love it!

image by @wales, Dean Moriarty

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

owasco_banner.png



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Well, dang. I could've saved myself some time had I noticed your link here!!! I searched the hard way to get this:

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 134 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you! I love these surprise visits from you! And I sure hope you turn out to be right, because this here is a freewrite that is worth the time it takes to read it.

Pachinko!!!!
I recognize that name, that cat!!!!
Do go on - this story needs a conclusion, or a resolution of conflict.
And maybe some photos of our beloved #dailypetphotography friend Pachinko.

Ahhh, it was Pachino, not Pachinko. Sorry @whatisnew - I was almost remembering your name!

https://steemit.com/dailypetphotography/@whatisnew/pachino-finds-a-cozy-spot

haha I love it when we're writing at the same time.

Ya think it will make any money if I finish it? My political posts make nothing.
But what is this about a cat? I thought of Pachinko because I just finished that book.
My favorite line is "I bit my tongue. I bit it harder. I thought of my mother" That was freewriting at an impasse. Say something, say anything, and the story will go somewhere. But you have to keep writing. So much fun!

I started writing something big but then I slapped myself and reminded myself that I have made a promise to avoid talking politics on the internet, cause usually those discussions lead nowhere and are a huge waste of time.

So Ill just say it's a good post I enjoyed reading.

I came to steem to avoid politics, which I do almost exclusively on FedBook, but sometimes I just can't resist. OK a lot of times I can't resist. But my political posts are usually fiction, and I can't control what comes out in a freewrite, now can I?

LOL!
To practice The Mortification of Silence - my mission in life, rarely achieved.
Gotta read #Pachinko (the novel) now, and remember @owasco's favorite line.
"I bit my tongue. I bit it harder. I thought of my mother" - love it!

the world has a lot of hate in it. Everybody thinks it's the other guy doing the hating, aint that the same even here on the platform. It’s always the others fault ,
Lovely read on my Sunday evening

Hello! Thank you so much! That is my second favorite line in this piece. The one before it is my favorite, where I was biding my time trying to figure out what to say next. I love weekend freewrites.

A great story, humorous and entertaining.
It's so true that

the world has a lot of hate in it. Everybody thinks it's the other guy doing the hating.

Like freereign, I believe that all politicians are dirty and that power is never a means but an end.

Again, well done. I really enjoyed this.

I always deeply appreciate your support of my stories!
Hey check this out. I think you might like it.

Leave a comment on that post in rhyme
and a rhymebot responds in kind.
Prizes galore
be a minnow no more
be showered
with power
not gore

Love it!!! Be a minnow no more

You chose the same line I did when I Facebook shared this post!
"Honey, the world has a lot of hate in it. Everybody thinks it's the other guy doing the hating. Just be sure you see hate in yourself when it is there, and turn it to love."
Now I'm trying to pare it down for the Twitter share. :) You just did that for me, @deirdyweirdy. Thanks!
Great freewrite as always, @owasco!

You shared me on Fedbook? I wonder why I didn't see that. But thanks! Gotta go check that out.

Twitter, too!
And in a post I posted today - my belated "Yarn" freewrite. :)

#Fedbook - I love it! All the surveillance - not just Facebook's algorithms, but lurkers and "friends" and data collectors.

Awesome work my friend!

I'm a "don't ever talk politics" guy, generally because I think the overwhelming majority of politicians are dirty as they can possibly be. So what's there to talk about? :)

I get angry at people who put their trust in politicians that are obviously crooked and they're in politics for the same reason; getting rich on kickbacks and pay for promises kept to the lobbyists with lots of cash to spread around.

Your talk politics in your stories a lot! And you just did in that comment. So you just surprised me with that statement. In your fiction you often touch on political themes, events and possibilities.

I think when some of the stuff I write seems "political" to readers and they identify with what is said or implied, it seems that way because I do kind of say things sometimes that can easily be applied to the current news, the atmosphere and the situations; sort of metaphorically, I guess.

I do genuinely hate both political parties in America. I hate bureaucrats and anyone in political office that feels they are our bosses, when the opposite is true. I do love our country though, and I swore an oath to protect and defend our constitution. My duty to uphold that oath never expires until I'm dead and gone.

Something I've noticed when I do write something that could possibly be considered to fall in the political category, is that in the comments, people on different sides identify agreeably with what I write.

When I say I don't like to talk politics, I mean just that. The reality of the political sphere. I don't trust any politician or party, and I don't think any politician is trustworthy down deep inside. I think any and ALL of them can easily be bought if the price is right.

The lifetime political careers have to end. Term limits must be enacted. That's about as political as I get right there. ;)

Are kids allowed in pubs?
Interesting story you wrote. I need to think it over.
Happy writing. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

In the US, as long as the pub is also selling food, children are allowed in. They can't sit at the bar though. I had a classy bar/restaurant in mind when I wrote this.

@owasco Thanks for explaining. A bar/restaurant makes sense.👍
💕

Great weekend freewrite @owasco. The people you portrayed are so true to life and the situations we see in the world today. I thoroughly enjoyed your story.

Thanks! Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. This is a major theme of mine. We need to respect each other no matter who we voted for, what our passions are, or where we have come from. We could be enriching each other instead of tearing each other down. Xo fellow freewriter.

This was one of the most interesting freewrites I've read.

The energy and tempo were spot on. Bravo!

Why thank you! I am so happy you think that of my little piece. Weekend freewrites are always so surprising to me. I love writing them.

You are very welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74