On the road (Weekend freewrite)

As I feared, I was stiffer than a two-by-two as I rousted myself off the porch and climbed into the truck. The man climbed behind the wheel and silently handed me a chocolate bar. He hadn’t said a word since ordering me out of the house in the middle of the night and I knew better than to speak out of turn. Uncle Pete had taught me that.
What’s the point off asking a question when you know you won’t like the answer? When a stranger barges into your bedroom in the middle of the night and orders you to get out of bed quickly that cannot be a good thing. Even a ten year old knows that and I was two weeks shy of turning eleven. As for Mom and Uncle Pete, God only knew what they were up to.
‘Don’t worry about them’, the man had said. There was not menace in his voice, yet he made it quite clear there were not to be any more questions. Even though I was afraid of Uncle Pete, part of me wished the mystery man was a friend of his, to whom I had been entrusted for whatever reason. But then Mom or my step father would have mentioned something about me going away. Unless they had to leave in a hurry, which happened a lot. After all, it wasn’t the first time I had to leave in a hurry whatever shabby house we called home at the time.
When the truck got on the highway I knew that wherever the guy was taking me it wasn’t close so I settled myself comfortably in the chair and pretty soon fell asleep.

IMAG2427.jpg

I sat down at the table and ordered a meal. There were a few other guests. Truckers by the look of it, people who minded their own business. Even if I were to ask for help, I doubted any of them would take their eyes off their plates long enough to look at me. When the man came back from the restroom he ordered black coffee for himself. He’d got rid of the black cap to reveal a headful of black hair nicely combed back and he smelled of cheap soap. He tried to present a calm face but I could feel him watching me nervously as I shoved the greasy fries into my mouth and chewed as fast as I could on the hamburger, which was surprisingly tasty. Or maybe I was just very hungry.
Back in the truck, the man seemed to relax a bit and put on the radio, tuned to an oldies station. I felt better, too. Since he had just fed me a copious meal, hopefully he wasn’t planning on killing me. Maybe there was a perfectly logical explanation for all this secrecy and it will be revealed to me in good time. Maybe it was part of Mom’s plan to get away from Uncle Pete, as she had threatened so many times during their drunken fights. Running away separately made sense, as Uncle Pete would certainly chase her, not me. I was unimportant to him. I imagined Mom putting on a wig and big dark sunglasses before boarding a bus. I was sure she’d be on a bus, since Uncle Pete’s old Toyota was still in the driveway when we left. Imagine Uncle Pete’s fury when he woke up to find the house empty.
‘Why are you laughing?’
The man’s voice woke me from my crazy day-dreaming and I realized the plan in my had was just dumb. Here I was, in the middle of nowhere with a man I had never seen in my life with no idea where he was taking me. I started to cry.

IMAG2464.jpg

It was dark when the truck pulled up in front of a small house, at the end of a dirt road. Surrounded by tall trees and overgrown bushes, the place felt creepy and isolated, but I had no option but to follow the man inside.
‘We’re home’, he announced as he motioned me into the living-room, complete with a brand-new sofa and a big-screen TV. What caught my eye was the white cardboard box beside the TV, which had the Nintendo logo on it. I’d always wanted a game console, but I’d never dared to ask for one, as money were always an issue between Mom and Uncle Pete, even when he came back from one of his business trips with wads of bills stuffed into the pockets of his jacket.
‘It’s for you’, the man said, following my curious gaze. He was shaking and I could see tears welling up into his eyes. He seemed agitated as if a terrible fight was raging inside of him and then he pulled me into his arms, holding me tight, squeezing me and ruffling my hair.
‘I’ve missed you so much, Tommy’.
A deeply buried image emerged from the depth of my memory. Mom arguing with the man in front of me, whom I now knew was my Dad. And his name was Robert. Robert, as in ‘I should never have left Robert’, as I once heard Mom saying one night when Uncle Pete came home drunk and slapped her when she said there was no beer in the fridge.
It all came back to me - how I used to dream we’d go back to living with Dad and Mom would stop drinking or taking those pills that made her walk like a zombie and Uncle Pete won’t be there anymore to kick me around. Those dreams had ceased years ago and I had all but forgotten Dad.
When he finally let go of me, I asked Dad if Mom and Uncle Pete won’t be looking for us.
‘Don’t worry about them’.
I wanted to ask how could he know that for sure, but that was a question I wasn’t sure I wanted to know the answer to.

Story written for @mariannewest's freewrite challenge, the weekend three-prompt special!
Check out her blog and join our freewrite community.

Thanks for reading!

signature_1.gif



Images are my own.

Sort:  

I loved your #freewrite so much, I have to toss you the Over 20 Club #HotPotato

"Hey" @marie-jay!
#HotPotato!

QmbLjBHeGocD8L8hftLmdkq56D1aKGMcWu791dNT3QkY6B.png

@freewritehouse started throwing a hot potato! Don't get caught with it or you'll have to clean up after the party. It landed started with @mariannewest being thrown a hot potato by @improv here: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/the-weekend-freewrite-7-21-2018-part-3-the-dramatic-twist and then she rudely threw it at me here:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@felt.buzz/dog-breath-pass-a-five-minute-freewrite#@mariannewest/re-feltbuzz-dog-breath-pass-a-five-minute-freewrite-20180725t002506105z
[email protected] threw it to me, because I said he was afraid of snakes. 🐍:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@wonderwop/my-cat-has-dog-breath

I don't want it, and you weren't quick enough to duck, so bad luck you have the hot potato now!

Go read another freewrite and pass it on to that writer in the comments! Also, yes, I really read your freewrite. Here's the link to the contest announcement:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/hot-potato-an-over-20-club-game"

Hi, I am Sohag form Bangladesh. I am new on Steemit or Your Community.

Please read the post: Some unknown facts about space that you might not know yet

I have given you an upvote. Please, you also give me upvote.

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@mdsohagm752/some-unknown-facts-about-space-that-you-might-not-know-yet

Your comment looks a lot like spam and people on this platform do not like this. Actually, some of the bigger accounts might downvote you to a point where you are not visible anymore. Here are three good articles which will help you to be successful on this platform.

https://steemit.com/content/@zingali/newbie-steemians-or-do-s-and-do-not-s-or-8-tips

https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatamidoing/it-s-a-great-time-for-new-users-to-earn-sbd-by-leaving-good-comments

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/the-complete-steemit-etiquette-guide-revision-2-0

Hi marie-jay,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @marie-jay! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Such a story!! I am always amazed by what you are weaving out of those prompts!!! And I am so happy that you got that curie upvote!!!

Hoping that you are having a wonderful weekend (or beginning of the week - whatever the case might be :)

I am here to bring you the newest prompt

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Wow that was a good story. I was looking over the fiction stuff here on steemit to see what it's like over here these days and was happy to find your story.

Hi @marie-jay I was going through #freewrite and found this beauty. I'm going to nominate your story this week. 👏

You've been featured in our Freewrite Favorites post this week! Thank you for being such a great part of our writing community.

<300freewriteFavorites2-VOL.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44