Wednesday walk challenge - A walk with the kids of my neighborhood :))

in #wednesdaywalk6 years ago

Wednesday walk challenge, by my friend @tattoodjay :))

IMG_8517.JPG

Today I arrived home later than usual, and just had a walk around my neighborhood. As I may have told you already, my neighbors are formed by a former single family that has grown through the decades into some dozens of families with a bunch of kids.

IMG_8519.JPG

Timorese women have around 5-6 kids, if not more. Having lots of kids is a sign of fertility and a guarantee that the youngers will look after the elders, generation after generation. This family started by 3 siblings that came from the mountains to work in a road construction and got trapped in Dili when the Indonesians invaded East Timor in 1975.

IMG_2738.JPG

Afraid to go back to their home districts, or even to cross the capital center (my area is in the suburbs, even today), they ended up staying to today and became fishermen.

IMG_1568.JPG

Today I was hanging up with some of the kids that kept saying out loud Portugal! Portugal! Even after Portugal being eliminated from the World Cup... I made some videos but can't upload them.

IMG_2743.JPG

So here are the photos, technically terrible, and out of focus, as the kids didn't stop jumping, lol!

IMG_2742.JPG

But I guess they show you the mood and how happy these kids are, even though they have almost nothing. Not even a toilet in their homes or tap water.

Back home, I still had time to enjoy this after sunset!

IMG_6375.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this walk with me.

See you next Wednesday!

Thanks, my dear Jay!

Love to all!

Steem on!

Yours,
Isabel

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

Photos taken by me with my iPhone, no edition.

DQmc75yMiEvNZwe9U2sA7t4ghotVDAWpZp3VsJaRYaJ3fDV.png

photofriend banner.jpg

DQmSSjgs1swFwv64uXRVpB9DAtzSnDv2Eeqr3CnPAup4WVV.png

steem sugarsDQmeZR5gxMRsGvanJAzkyHoYaXBTVWCfHEYqiycvb4rLJtU_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

this is so beautifully told!

Thanks so much, my friend! It's the best comment I wished to get! Cheers!

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Such sweet shots, I remember walking the streets there and chatting, well as much as I could since I do not speak Portuguese with some of the kids was so touching

tip!

Still is, my friend. That's ET in its best! People, especially the children are so genuine and happy, although lack so many basic things. Thanks my dear Jay, I'm glad I woke up those memories in you!

Yes the truth always comes out with the children I have found wherever i have been

Indeed! They can't be otherwise! I agree, my dear Jay!

Hi @nolasco! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: I Scream You Scream We All Scream For Ice Cream Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

La realidad es impactante a veces, solo que a todos nos impacta de diferentes maneras... un gran saludo desde Venezuela #thealliance

Eso es, de facto. Creo que en algun lugar siempre miraremos escenarios como este. saludos desde Timor-Leste! Greetings!

Ah, ah, ah! I know why that little girl is so embarrassed. Hint: Look at the bigger kid with the green shirt! 😂😂😂

Great photos! But I think Facebook wouldn't let that pass. Ah ah ah!

Ahhh! Had to go back to see what you did. Cute.

I think so too, hopefully we are NOT on FB, ufff! Here people are no hypocrites, so we can post photos like these ones, full of innocence! Thanks for passing by, my friend!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks, my dear Pix!

Where in Portugal is this?

Aw, this is not Portugal, this is East Timor, Timor-Leste, the country where I'm currently living!

Excelentes capturas @nolasco, me encanta las fotos! Gracias por compartir!
Abraços!

Obrigada, amigo! Estes momentos enchem o meu coração! Obrigada eu por passar aqui! Abraços!

Minha querida adorei os teus vizinhos! São estes momentos e essas carinhas que às vezes me fazem ter saudades! Beijinho muito grande!

Pois é, minha querida, é isto que TL tem de melhor. Muitos beijinhos, minha linda, e muitas saudades!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12