Wednesday Walk Trash Edition

in #wednesdaywalk5 years ago

This is in response to a Challenge by @tattoodjay to take photographs of things on a walk. Things you don’t normally see. I really like the challenge and the challenger so here I am again.

So. I came back to write this ‘intro’ paragraph. I have probably used some descriptions and language that I wouldn’t normally use, particularly in a Wednesday Walk. In all honesty, there are parts of this walk that really piss me off. And I haven’t ingested any nicotine for 48 hours which puts my normal crappy disposition into a new perspective. I’m even churlish to Sam, the best dog on earth. Beware!

Sam Trash.JPG

This just makes me crazy. We see it a lot more this time of year when everybody is leaving for the summer. You got garbage? Just haul it out in the desert and dump it.

You have to be a special sort of asshat to do this thing. Obviously you don’t partake of the beauty of the desert while you are here. Probably just the cheap booze and nice weather. Asshole.

Sam Trash 2.JPG

It REALLY irritates me. From where this picture was taken it is less than 10 miles to the nearest county refuse receiving station. You’ve got it loaded in your pickup. Why not just haul it where it belongs. It’s FREE. Then you don’t have to spew your shit all over the desert. Really.

Yard Waste 1.JPG

It’s not like there is just one dickhead around here. This butt brain loaded 8 garbage bags with yard waste to haul out here. The yard waste would eventually compost and recycle but your convenient plastic bags will freaking be there forever. Nice contribution to the future of mankind. Plastic pollution.

Both of these jackasses just stopped on the trail, tossed everything off and proceeded. They didn’t stack, or locate, just dumped. Not a single thought to the next person on that trail.

Carinin.JPG

I have a couple of updates from previous walks. This is my favorite Cairin in the area, and it is showing some wear and tear. It’s obvious that someone was maintaining this place and now they aren’t. There is a pervading sadness here.

Shovel Nose.JPG

I thought I’d showed you this guy before, but I can’t see where I did. Sam found him one morning and alerted me to come look. It’s a shovelnose snake which is pretty common around here. This one was molting when we found him so he was somewhere near as crabby as I am today.

Fort Rear.JPG

I’ve talked about this structure being built out in the desert by person or persons unknown out of stuff picked up in the desert. The builder is no longer unknown to me. It’s a kid maybe about age 11. I told him that I really like what he is doing and he beamed. Not that he wanted to be photographed with his work, but at least he knows that one person likes his work.

This is the end of this #Wednesday Walk. I’ll fix some breakfast for me and Sam and I will head out for our walk just after the sun is up. One way or the other I promise you that I won’t be as irritated with the world next week. Thanks for coming along!

All Words and Photographs in this post are mine, for better or worse.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@broncofan99 Sports Teaching Fishing BBQ. Not necessarily in that order.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@princessmewmew Food Antiques Food Life Food Cats. Anything of beauty could show up here.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

That's pretty horrible that they would dump the trash out there like that. Especially when there is a dump so close. It's pretty crazy that they just threw it out there rubbermaid tub and all. That looks like a king snake. Very similar markings to the poisonous coral snake.

Yeah. I was in cel reception so I looked the snake up. The King and Coral are really similar, this one's stripes don't go all the way round. They aren't venomous but he looked angry as he was trying to shed his skin.

The dump dickheads just really make me crazy. Sam and I carry a bag about once a week on our walks to pick up bottles and cans and stuff, but this makes me insane. I think probably I'll get a friend with a pickup to help haul it where it belongs.

That is very noble of you! If I were closer you could for sure use mine 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

People are the same all over the world, here we often take garbage bags with when we go for a walk on some of the beaches, fortunately not all get trashed! What we also see is the huge amount of garbage along the highways, I often think they should not cut the grass so low because it just reveals the waste people throw out their car windows for it to land there! Waste strewn everywhere is one of my pet peeves!!!!
That snake looks scary @bigtom13!!!!

Our freeway through town is incredibly clean. Yuma county runs a work crew out of the county jail. Those guys and gals volunteer to pick up litter. They get a half day of good time for every day they work and are paid a very small amount each day for their personal use at the jail store. They actually do all kinds of civic projects around Yuma. But this is out in the 'pucker brush' where people don't often go. It's just a shame.

It's really disgraceful, they used to make use of prisoners many years ago but human rights campaigners put a stop to it, our laws are way too crooked!

I totally understand being so annoyed by the asshats ho dump there trash out there it is so stupid a thing to do especially if there is a free place t dump it so close by

YOu can tell the 11 year old boy there is another one how Appreciated that feature he is building it is so cool

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Next time I see him, I'll tell him. I go by it about once a week and it changes a little every week. Pretty cool kid...

Sure is a cool kid still many these days and playing on devices and such great to hear if one being creative

This is really very bad. People are irresponsible who cannot understand the importance of garbage free land. Actually, our use and throw culture is the main culprit which has turned is into a selfish species which is acting like a big virus for the planet earth.

Yeah. They just don't care. It really irritates me. I've caught one couple dumping a couch. I got good photos and turned them in. I hope they got a $1000 fine for it. Probably didn't get the max, but I can hope.

I hate shit heads that litter. Thanks for cleaning up. !tip

Me too. No reason on earth for it. When I owned a coffee shop here we had a dumpster out back. We never filled it, but it was often full. Way better that than dropping it out in the desert.

The dump being free and close is what is really aggravating.

At the dump they really like the yard waste. Everything but oleander is ground and used for compost in city projects and community gardens. It's a perfect project for excess yard waste. Big sigh.

You can dispose of the Oleander. It's not a good fit for the lettuce grown in the area (it's poisonous) but you can put Oleander waste with 'ordinary garbage'.

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @davedickeyyall!

@davedickeyyall wrote lately about: At The Local Hair Salon Feel free to follow @davedickeyyall if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @bigtom13! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 comments. Your next target is to reach 6500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Its disrespectful and lazy. Drives me mad how some people think they can do this...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67408.93
ETH 3491.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70