My Speech as Best Man...

in #wedding6 years ago


Hello to all my Steemit friends and followers

Over the past weekend I was completely busy with my best friends wedding, and being that I was the Best Man, I had extra duties and expectations to help out when needed...

  • Friday night was the rehearsal and reception set up
  • Saturday was the wedding
  • Sunday - Hang-over day

Yeah, It was a long and busy weekend for sure. Lots of alcohol, and I'll probably just rephrase that into - too much alcohol... I'm not a big drinker, I know when to quit - It's just sometimes, others don't want you to quit ;)


Being a Best man

Everything about being the Top Guy is a great honor. It feels really good to have a friend consider you for his Best Man position at his wedding - one of the most important days he will remember for the rest of his life.
But it also means you Have To make a speech!
Which for some isn't a big deal, might be something they look forward to - But for the rest of us who are terrified to stand up, in front of hundreds of eyes, many of whom belong to faces you know, and not-just-talk but actually entertain these people while making the Bride and Groom proud...

That can seriously mess a guy up!

But...
If you can pull it off - You get admired for the rest of the night!
Free drinks and congratulations make you actually the Best-Man at the place next to the Groom!


Anyways, I was terrified to give a speech. It took me weeks of writing "Stuff" just to come up with a layout and did re-write after re-write to come up with it - I then added pieces during the rehearsal and wedding day. I didn't sleep much the night before.
When the time came though, I sucked it up, and did my speech the way I had intended.
There were great laughs, some emotional "oooohhh's" were made, and at the end -
A roar of a cheering crowd

I was quite proud of it

And now that the whole ordeal is over - The words will most likely be forgotten.
Well, when I was returning my rental tux, I found the notecards I used in a pocket and decided I would like to use the Steem Blockchain to keep the words for safekeeping.


My Best Man Speech

Good afternoon ladies and gentleman,
I hope everyone is enjoying this very special day so far -
First, I would like to thank all the lovely Brides Maids, especially Kristy for being an excellent maid of honor...
I would also like to thank the great ushers - Josh, Anthony, and Kyle - Located at the end of this table, who did a fantastic job staying sober for the ceremony - Way to step it up guys!
And the bride - Just stunning - Looks like a million bucks!
.
Of course, for those who don't know me, I am John, the best man, and me and the groom here go way back... Unfortunately, most of the stories I have I can't tell you, so I'll keep this clean.
We were next door neighbors and partners in crime growing up and ooohhhh, things have surely changed dramatically over the years.
The most notable change, and I'm sure others here will agree, Is his baby face and high pitched voice!
I remember how sensitive you would get - Squeeks… Anyways, Congratulations - You finally caught up with the rest of us!
So, like I said, we were neighbors, and once we grew up into bigger kids, we decided to become roommates - Not once, but 4 separate times.
Yeah.... and all I can say about that is,
"Thank God, She has him now!"

All jokes aside, I can see why we are all here today witnessing you two so in love

  • Megan is a loving, caring, beautiful woman and great mother
  • Chris, your probably one of the most dependable and caring guys I know... Unfortunately, I have nothing to say about your looks

But when we were roommates in St. Cloud going to the University, that is when all the magic began between these two. Chris was bartending, when on night he came home with a huge smile on his face,
Of course, this is when Megan came into the picture and they have been inseparable ever since.
To make a beautiful story short - here we are,
A Wedding
Not to mention the newest addition Boden and the amazing family you have been blessed with.
( It is something to be envied )

As a final note
Chris you are one lucky man to be leaving here married to such a beautiful bride.
And Megan, Your lucky too - You married my best friend

It now gives me immense pleasure ( and obvious relief) to invite you all to stand, and raise your glasses to the new Mr. & Ms. *****
To Chris and Megan!

Thank you all - and enjoy the night!


Hopefully, in 20years I can go back 50,000 post's and see this exact speech I made!
The power of the blockchain!

Some names have been changed and I omitted the last names, these are things I will remember.
If anyone would like to use parts of this speech - Go ahead, I don't mind.

And feel free to make a comment!


~Keep on - Steemin' on~

@generation.easy

Bitcoin and Gold Fanatic

Sort:  

If I had the honour of being the best man I don't know what I'd do. Would I jump for joy knowing that out of the groom close friends I was chosen or would I tear my hair out and sob the corner dreading the fact of speaking infront of hundreds of people haha

That was a great speech nonetheless and the rush of adrenaline much of felt amazing @generation.easy!

hahaha. Na, you'd do fine, I'm sure of it!
The relief after definitely felt good!

Great speech mate and sounds like everyone had an awesome time, well done, cheers.

Thanks man, yeah it was a great time.
I needed a day to recover for sure!

aaahhhhhh......so sweet short and touching. i do hate long boring stories all in the name of giving a toast. my motto is the shorter the better. cheers bro. lovely speech.

I hate long speeches too and long ceremonies... like the catholic ones where your in the church for an hour+. Thanks for the compliments

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-a-a

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 3.83% upvote!
I was summoned by @generation.easy. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 2.22% upvote from @upme thanks to @generation.easy! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

This post has received a 3.25 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @generation.easy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79